Men's Trail Model 4 Waterproof Hiking Boots is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 248.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, good looking hikers. I was a little hesitant to purchase at first because there were no reviews. I liked the style and wanted some hikers to wear casually around town that wouldn't make my feet too hot (I have a pair of storm chasers that are excellent for snowy conditions, luckily I have experienced a mild winter so far). The hikers were true to fit and the build quality is excellent. They would be great trail hikers as well. I have not yet tested them under very wet conditions. So far they have been comfortable to wear during the break in period, but I may consider a gel type insert to make them feel more like athletic shoes. Very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's 2021 - Still Not Waterproof Saw "not waterproof" reviews in 2016, 17, 18 and June 20. Like a review stated in Nov 2018 - thought the Product Development/Design Team might have "fixed" the issue - so took a chance they were. You have not. I wore these ~6 times on ~2 mile hikes - exposed to some wet grass ONLY. Today my socks (and the shoe's toes) are soaked; each time I wore them it got progressively worse. Tek 2.5 waterproof technology appears not to be working - and/or its an issue with "toe design". Address shoe waterproof capabilities AFTER some wear - as the materials probably stretch - compromising shoe waterproofness????
Date published: 2021-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Light-Weight waterproof insulated boots! I bought these great light insulated boots for winter hiking and bushwhacking last year. I waited to Post a review so I had a chance to put these to the test during winter. Primarily, I bought these boots because I wanted lighter weight boots that have some insulation without the weight and heavy insulation of boots made for sitting in tree stand during cold winter months. This boot has excellent traction, griped well on slippery winter ground. Extremely comfortable, I can wear these boots all day without my feet getting sore or sweating during winter hunting on the move. At $99 these boots are a bargain. LL Bean comes through with quality and value once again!
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Boots are made for Walkin' After trying them all...LL Beans Trail Model 4 wins....I now own 4 pair and alternate them for daily wear. My podiatrist suggested I start wearing an ankle try boot for walking (2.2 miles twice each day) to ease pain & slight swelling I was experiencing. Tried many styles and brands and ended up with 4 pairs of these great boots! Excellent ll bean quality of construction materials and craftmanship, Superior fit with "toe room' that so many others lack and great ankle support, Great looks too - all at a price that no one can beat. My first pair are now 11 months old and are holding up very well. ll bean - Please do not change this excellent product in any way..
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for light hiking I bought these for working on my rural property where I needed a lightweight boot with a higher top and gusseted tongue to keep out dirt, weed seeds, and other debris. These boots do that. I've also done some day hikes on rough, rocky trails where they have performed well. I wouldn't use them for backpacking or for rough off trail hiking, where I'd want thicker, stiffer soles, but that's not their niche. I haven't worn them in wet conditions so I can't comment on how waterproof/resistant they are. For light hiking and as a work boot where steel toes aren't required, I rate them as five stars.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Definitely not Waterproof These boots are definitely NOT waterproof. I ignored previous reviews that pointed this out, assuming that any defect had been addressed by LL Bean. Not the case. Even a walk through wet grass will quickly leave your feet soaking wet. To make matters worse, these boots are extremely slow to dry. If you are in the field, this means that your feet stay wet all day. The lack of waterproofing aside, these boots are not particularly comfortable or especially lightweight. I would not recommend even to those who are not concerned about a lack of waterproofing.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely waterproof! Went for a short 6 mile hike the day after purchasing these to try to break them in since the sole was stiff (obviously, as they were brand new). The trail turned out to be a lot wetter/muddier than anticipated, and the boots were submerged 2-4 inches in mud or water multiple times. My feet remained completely dry. Something to note is that the fabric on the boot will get wet, but the water doesn't seem to make it through the lining. I wouldn't be confident enough to stand in water for minutes at a time, but for wet trails, they work great. The boots seem to have begun to break in after this short hike as well, and are very comfortable and lightweight.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WIDE is no longer wide enough... I bought these to replace my Trail Model 3's which were great boots. I ordered the same size -- 10.5 Wide -- and the new boots were WAY narrower. I even tried an 11 Wide but they were also too narrow. Is it a manufacturing error or has Bean changed their wide boot last? I hope the former because Bean is my go-to place for hiking boots/shoes. On a positive note, the Trail Model 4's are very well made. The front bumpers are sturdier and the soles are more aggressively lugged than the previous gen. More reasons why I'm so disappointed that I can't wear them...
Date published: 2016-04-23