Men's Trail Model 4 Waterproof Hiking Shoes is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 386.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware, NOT Waterproof! I am going to start by saying that I used to own the original version of these hiking shoes but in the mid top and I could stand with the toe submerged in water for hours and never get wet. I decided to purchase a pair of the low top shoe version for work and on the first day I wore them in a damp grass field with a slight drizzle all day. By the end of the day my toes were soaked. Beware, by no means are these hiking shoes waterproof. These "waterproof" hiking shoes should at least withstand damp to wet conditions for hours but that was not the case. I will be returning them when I have the chance.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mildew or mold odor Good news first. These sneakers fit well and would be a welcome addition to my collection. HOWEVER- upon opening the box the odor was overwhelming! Either mildew, mold or both. Let them air out I thought. It’s about a month but the “aroma” remains. I next wore them to determine if that would reduce/eliminate the smell - no luck. Before writing this review I checked one last time - still reek! I saved the box - it smells too! Perhaps the problem lies in where the shoes were stored? I’ll give it one more week- if they still have not lost the odor - they’ll go back to the company. As I noted, the shoe fit is fine, but the odor cast off is unbelievable!
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for hiking I've been wearing these hiking shoes almost daily for a year on semi-rugged trails, logging 2-5 miles a day (except when the snow's heavy). I have a narrow foot so I added some Dr. Scholls-type shoe inserts; the fit was perfect after that. The shoes have held together nicely, showing only some minor wear around the ankle, and the tread still has a sure grip. I recently bought a replacement pair on sale to store away, as shoe models are often discontinued. I also bought a high-ankle version of the same shoe to use on more rugged trails to guard against rolling and possibly spraining my ankle. That should hold me for a few more years.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Shoe, Fatal Flaw First the GOOD -- they fit well and are very comfortable. The "wide" is actually wide enough for my fat foot. They're kind of like running shoes, but with extra stability and authority. They look good, too. ---------- And now the BAD: they are wearing out seriously in the upper heel area after exactly FIVE(5) months of moderate wear. The material in the heel area really needs to be made of something more wear-resistant than at present. I thought of sending them back, but they were a bargain, plus I don't want to be without them! So I will look for some kind of shoe-repair tape, and hope that Bean's upgrades the heel material before my next purchase.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shoes Smell I loved the predecessor to this shoe. I purchased it at least six (6) times over the years. I thought it was a great shoe, but it is no longer made. So I thought I would give this shoe a try. The fit is fine, but I kept noticing a "musty" and "moldy" smell and I couldn't figure of where it was coming from. Today when I was putting on my shoes, I realized that it was coming from the shoes!!! Then I remembered reading some other reviews that mentioned the smell. I really like the shoe, but returned the shoe today because of the smell. Bring back the old shoe...Trail Model Hiker 4 Low Leather/Suede Men's, 12, Medium D, Coffee Bean.
Date published: 2021-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed These shoes did not meet industry standards for size or consistency to be mail ordered. I would only recommend purchase at a store were you can try multiple combinations of size and width. The area of the shoe opposite the large toe was not at the normal angle so toes were to tight. They had the look and feel in quality expected from LL Bean, but manufacturer did not meet expectations. Normally I take a medium, the angle of the front of shoe was inaccurate and so the width was too narrow. The second pair were inconsistent with the first pair and the extra width was useless since the angle of the shoe wasn't consistent with human anatomy.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far looks promising I had the same shoe from several years ago, but size 9. Initially it was a good shoe for my purpose (golf), but I decided it was too short, so I recently got the longer size, 9.5. Right now the length seems fine, but the shoes are still a little too stiff, causing forefoot pain, which I hope will change in time. Bottom line: shoe is well made, but whether it will work out for me remains to be seen. Bean asks for reviews right after purchase, which really is too soon to see if a product like shoes (and many other products) work out in the long haul. Keep that in mind when considering my review.
Date published: 2019-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bean's sizing I bought a pair of another Bean shoe a few years ago that is the most uncomfortable shoes I have ever wore. I bought another pair that was a little larger and they are great. I also have some other Bean clothes that don't fit good. I have realized that a lot of Bean products are made on the small side. Now I order or go into the store and buy my items in the next size up. I think Bean has to start to cater to the "older, mature sized" customer that is NOT built like their magazine models. I do like most of Beans products and I buy a large portion of my clothes there. I wish they would offer a nice pair of chinos with a elastic waistband in an aged coloring style. Cabelas gets my money for their pants. I may gripe about things but I do like shopping at Beans.
Date published: 2017-10-20