Men's Rapid River Vest Pack is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fish off the beaten track I took this vest/pack on my recent annual trip to the Allagash. It is perfect for exploring hard to reach spots far in from easy access points. It has tons of storage for fly boxes and gadgets. I was able to pack a rain jacket, survival kit and lunch. The camel back water system is great because it makes it easy to keep hydrated without having to stop. I loaded this vest up and it was pretty heavy but it is so adjustable and sits so well on your back that it was no problem to carry all day. I had no problem casting with it on. Most important to me was that it is compact and rugged enough to bushwack through heavy jack firs without loosing gear. If this is the kind of fishing you like to do i think you will love this vest.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Vest on the market! I fish at least 1 day a week almost year round. I bought this vest in Sept. of 2016. It fits me perfectly. Plenty of pockets for storage of everything that one needs on the river or stream. I can stand in the river for 6 hours straight and have everything that I need at my disposal. I keep 4 fly boxes with me as well as my car keys, leaders, gloves, head scarf, etc. The back pack as room for extra clothes and a rain jacket. It holds my tippet holder just fine and I have no trouble with the zipper. This vest is durable and will last for many years.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Back is the best part Many of the reviews online have it right. The backpack portion is on point, while the front is borderline useless. Tippet holder are irrelevant due to location, fly foam will crush anything other than a midge, and makes the rest of the pocket unusable. The pockets on the side are difficult to reach an oddly shaped. I am 6' 170 lbs, and this vest would not fit me correctly. Too much space between waist belt and shoulder straps. Returned to store.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable vest that carries a lot. I held off posting a review on this vest until after I'd used it for a season (fly fishing for brookies in Shenandoah NP, which can require some hiking-in). Concur with previous reviewers criticizing the front zipper ('way too tight), awkward front-pocket access, poor placement of some pockets and zingers. It DOES have a lot of cargo room to carry "field" stuff that I need for hiking in, but sure gets uncomfortable, especially by the end of a warm spring day.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GREAT backpack, TERRIBLE front pack I've been the proud owner of the original Rapid River Vest since 2005. It's been by far the most versatile flyfishing vest I've ever used or seen. So much so that some of my closet buddies became proud owners of the RRV after me. We've all made comments to each other through the years on how the pack could be improved and we've all been waiting for a new and hopefully even better version. When the new RRV was released we were stoked. I purchased one right away and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. But after trying to pack the vest with my standard gear and one day on the water I am extremely happy with the improvements to the back portion and extremely disappointed in the "so-called" improvements to the front. I really dislike everything that was done to the front portion of the pack. Could only fit one fly box in the main fly box pouch, when before I could fit two. Just not big enough. Had to put my smallest fly box in the third side pocket and it barely fit because the pocket is shaped funky. Really dislike how the big fly box pouch only opens on one side. Had my tippet fall out cause it doesn't open all the way. Fell out as soon as I opened it. The smaller front pockets were made smaller too. Had to take the fly patches out just to fit what I've always carried in those pockets. Never had to take them out of my old RRV. There isn't enough material between the chest zipper and the chest pockets. Made the zipper extremely hard to zip. The zipper has to be lined up perfectly for it to work. Really struggled with that. The tool zingers are really annoying. The tool connection is just weird, they're too long, and there's no where to put the tool. The tool can either hang and flop around and get in the way of every zipper and pocket or you can try to slide it into the TINY little slot next to the chest zipper. But even if your tool, like some forceps, is in that tiny slot its totally in the way of zippers and pockets. The sternum strap/clip is absolutely pointless and because there isn't enough material along the zipper it totally gets in the way of everything! All the pocket zipper tags are way to small. Even with warm, dry fingers I struggled grabbing and holding onto em to open and close pockets. The tippet cord in the waist pockets is pointless. Not long enough to even make sense putting your tippet there. The plastic D ring that I used to clip my net to on the old RRV is gone. The backpack portion is phenomenal. Great, GREAT, GREAT improvements in every aspect there. But why, oh why, did they screw up so many things on the front. That's not where the vestpack needed improvements. My solution was to create a hybrid. I removed the old RRV front and put it on the new RRV back. Now I have the greatest flyfishing vest/pack ever!!!! I apologize for the lengthy and critical review but I felt it had to be said.
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pack Tons of room for much of my equipment. I use this as a search and rescue vest and it allows me to house my GPS, radio, first aid kit, water bladder, K9 needs, and emergency survival items. The vest carries great and fits properly. Zippers are a little tough to manipulate but everything else makes up for that shortfall.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pack I've been through a couple of chest packs for my creek/stream wading adventures, but had struggled to find one that suited my needs. A friend had this pack, so I figured I'd give it a shot (the 10% off code that popped up that day was a nice bonus). I have had the pack out fishing a couple of times and it has room for days. I like that it has plenty of room in the back for a water bladder, yet there are still pockets in the back for some of those items that aren't needed at hand in the front. There are plenty of pockets and pouches in the front for all of the items I use on a regular basis. The waist belt seems to help take some of the strain off of your back while on a long wade and that is a very nice feature. I bought a couple of smaller tackle boxes to better fit some of my lures, but that was needed as I had been wanting to downsize some of the stuff I was carrying. The larger, zippered pouches in front allow you to carry a bigger box than most of the packs out there. Overall, this pack is super comfortable and has more than enough storage for a day in the water. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes to wade in the creeks/streams/rivers.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Pack It is a heavy pack out of the box. The Rod tube holder is extremely tight. I was not able to fit any of my rod tubes into the bottom mesh net. Overall a decent pack for those long hikes or long days. Has enough space to carry your lunch and then some. Enough pockets to pack your house.
Date published: 2017-12-31