Men's Maine Hunting Shoes, 10" Gore-Tex/Thinsulate is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Boots I was a little concerned after reading the other reviews about fit. I normally wear a 10 EE. I ordered a 9 EE as the video suggested. They do fit but there is no room to spare. If I wore a 10 1/2 they would have been too tight. My only complaint is they are hard to remove. I cannot remove my foot without the liner wanting to pull out as well even if I loosen the laces all of the way out. The liner is only sown to the boot at the top. I wish they were also sown to the boot along the foot bed. I fear that after a while the liner itself will be damaged. Once on the boots are very comfortable and other than the liner issue they are very well made.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Upland Boot I bought these 10 years ago to primarily hunt upland game. They are truly the most comfortable and dry boot that I have worn. In February 2020 I sent them in to be resoled and a new set of liners added, what an impressive job! I received them back with new rubber bottoms, new removable liners, new removable foot cushions and new laces. They are like brand new boots with broken-in leather uppers. I also utilize the LL Bean sherpa foot liners for colder weather, they are a real game changer in the colder weather/snow. There is not one thing negative that I could say about these and I have recommended them to others.
Date published: 2020-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding I ordered the Maine Hunting Shoe 10" in Goretex/Thinsulate, narrow width. I've hunted many years in Bean boots and can say if anything the quality has improved. These boots fit me true to size with hunting socks. I wear an 8 and ordered an 8. No problems. They are incredibly comfortable and very, very warm. I winter hunt high backcountry in New Mexico and Colorado and these boots fit the bill whether hiking rough terrain or sitting for spells. They retain heat very well and are completely waterproof. Thank you LL Bean for continuing to offer these traditional boots. If it ain't broke.....don't fix it.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could be better Decided to try out the LL Bean hunting boots and see if the positive reviews were true. Here is my take after several years of owning this boot. Pros: Kept my feet dry in rain and snow. Surprisingly great ankle support. Laces stay tied. Definitely durable with no significant wear after several years. Cons: Difficult to remove boot, liner may be part of the problem. Grip on snow is questionable. Ended up slipping quite a bit on hard surfaces with fresh powder. Be careful on ice. Wish the sole had a better gripping surface and maybe a softer rubber compound for better traction. I'll take a hit on sole durability for increased traction.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, even for a lady At age 40, after more than 25 years of rain and snow service, my first pair of Bean boots from high school finally became too tight to wear with heavy wool socks. I've worn only minimalist footwear for years, and my toe box is now too wide for most women's shoes. I wanted a new pair of Bean boots, especially for spring lambing and sheep work, so I figured I'd try a men's size equivalent, in a normal men's width. Glory be, they fit PERFECTLY with heavy wool socks. I almost can't believe how good the fit is. The quality is, as ever, absolutely top notch. I look forward to putting another 25+ years into this new pair.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Design I am a retired Maine forester who has worn Bean boots for many decades. I preface my comments with the fact that I have great respect for LL Bean and their customer focus. This is a beautiful boot with great leather and the signature LL Bean boot rubber bottom. The problem is the sewn in liner which is very difficult to manage. Its difficult to get out of the boot without the liner pulling out with your foot and then making it difficult to free your foot of the liner. TERRIBLE DESIGN.....TERRIBLE !!! I took a razor and carefully cut out the back half of the liner that is attached to the boot. I then had the top edge of liner stitched to avoid fraying.I now just slip liner on foot and easily push foot in or pull foot out. I also took the felts from a snowmobile boot and put them in the boot providing a very comfortable and very warm winter boot.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Timeless Classic With a Modern Touch After receiving L.L. Bean's Maine Hunting Shoe, my town in Northern Michigan received almost a foot of snow within a few days. These boots kept me warm and dry, even while trampling through knee-deep snow drifts. These have quickly become my new favorite pair of Bean Boots. As stated, they do run a little large and you have to adjust your sizing according to your own needs. If you want a well designed and effective boot that is backed up by L.L. Bean's great service, these boots are ready for you to take on anything Mother Nature throws at you.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from insulated Maine hunting boots Well-made and perform like my old pair. The sewn-in liner should be reviewed: kind of a hassle to dry both liner and boot, and, what happens if liners get wet and boots are still needed, or if the liners wear out? Would be nice to be able to purchase a back-up set of liners. Also, eyelets for laces don't seem to be long enough for thickness of leather, hence, some don't have a full purchase on the underside. However, great boots and looking forward to wearing them out.
Date published: 2017-02-27