Women's Ultralight 850 Down Coat, Long is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 426.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what you would expect About three weeks ago I purchased the Ultra Light 850 Down Coat at the LL Bean in Cranston,RI. The filling in the arms of this coat is not sufficient. Even in temperatures around +30 degrees which is certainly not super cold, this coat does not keep your arms warm at all. Very unhappy given the fact what I paid for the coat; $289.00. Plus I do have another Ultra Light 850 in the shorter version that I bought last year and that one does not have these issues. So I wonder if I just got a faulty production piece or if the filling is simply not sufficient in this model and for the temperatures it's being advertised (+20 to -30).
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice fit, low weight quality for winter weather I ordered the coat in two different sizes based on reviews I had read figuring that this would give me options for a good size for me. I loved the length, but I was looking for a long warm winter coat to wear with skirts in Midwest Wisconsin. I was very disappointed with the quality based on the rating for -30 degrees. Since the temps. have already been to 20 degrees (0 degrees with windchill), I wasn't even tempted to wear this coat outside, reverting to wearing my orange parka (purchased from LLBean many years ago). I will be returning both coats and looking elsewhere for a heavy weight long winter coat to wear with dresses and skirts.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from L.L. Bean NAILED IT! Love this coat. Wanted to buy it last winter but waited too long and it sold out in store and online. True to size; I wear a size 8 top but a size 12 pant and a medium fit well across the hips (didn't have to go to a large). Hood is well cut; it isn't too big that it falls halfway down your face and doesn't fall back, either. Zipper comes up to the neck just below the chin, hits perfectly. I found it absolutely warm enough in 30 degree temps, surprised that another reviewer didn't find it warm. I wear it to the office over a business suit and I wear it over jeans to walk my dog, looks great in any situation. Extremely pleased with my purchase!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels like silk, warms like wool! I already own the Ultralight 850 Down Hooded Jacket, so when I needed a new winter coat I included the 850 coat in my online research. What I like best about the 850 is that it feels like silk on while keeping me plenty warm. (I should add that I do not like or need heavy outerwear.) Luckily I found the coat in my preferred color (dark plum) in an LL Bean outlet, so I was able to try on for size. I ended up buying up one size for a roomy fit. Wasn't sure at first about the longer length, but am pleased with it now that I'm wearing the coat on colder days here in the Finger Lakes. Just like the 850 jacket, this coat really delivers!
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gorgeous coat! The coat is beautiful - I love it. I had had an LL Bean down coat for over 35 years, and had never been cold in it, but I almost got stuck forever in it because the zipper locked, and I decided it was time for a new one. This one is so much lighter in weight, so much slimmer fitting, and the icy gray color looks perfect with my gray hair. Tested it on one cold 25 degree day, and it was toasty, haven't tried 0 degrees, but feel sure it will pass the test. Someone asked what my husband had given me for Christmas, and I said "A new coat, but he doesn't know about it yet." I'm looking forward to wearing it for another 35 years!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lighter than expected but great for travel To start, it’s only October here in Wisconsin. So I haven’t worn this yet. First impressions: I wasn’t expecting it to be so lightweight...it’s a true puffer coat. I own a different LLBean coat that’s more heavyweight... mistakenly thought it would be similar. Then I realized how packable it is...it rolls down to a tiny sized roll, perfect for travel. We leave for London soon and it’s coming with me. Fit is great. I am tall and I have long arms and broad shoulders, and the sleeves are long enough. I put it in the washer and dryer because that’s what I do before I wear new things. It came out great.
Date published: 2019-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Paper thin and provides little warmth I was so excited about this coat. This is my first New England winter and I wanted something heavy duty that would keep me warm in even the coldest conditions. Llbean has such a great reputation so I was confident that this coat would do it. I wore it in 45 degree weather with just a little bit of wind and I was shivering the entire time. There is no way that this coat will keep anyone warm at the sub-zero temperatures it boasts. This coat is incredibly thin and provides no protection from cold or wind, especially in the shoulders and chest. Also, I ordered the XS but it fits like a XXL sleeping bag, yet provides no warmth. I will definitely be returning this coat.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this coat! I debated about spending the money on this coat, but am glad I did. I have only had it for a couple of days, and I love it! It arrived just in time for below zero temps and wind ("feels like" teens and twenties below zero). This coat has exceeded my expectations and has kept me warm with a midweight layer underneath and warm boots. This coat is also very comfortable to wear while driving, and an added bonus is that not having heated car seats, this coat keeps my backside warm, too. Regarding styling, I agree with other reviewers about liking the understated same color logo on the sleeves, which I didn't even notice until I looked for them. I also love the Mariner Blue color.
Date published: 2017-01-06