Women's Classic Lambswool Duffel Coat is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 433.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Coat I purchased this wool duffle coat in classic camel color a couple of years ago, and love it. When I opened the box and saw the beautiful quality of the coat, I was delighted. The workmanship of the coat is superior to other comparable style coats out there. The hidden zipper is great, along with the toggles. It keeps me extra warm during these cold upper Midwest winters. It is roomy enough to wear with a heavy sweater, and the hood comes in handy for snowy days and/or those arctic blasts of cold wind. The only thing I wish is that it came in a longer length. I'm 5' 9" and this coat comes to about mid thigh on me. The soft Italian wool dry cleans beautifully.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth the Price Like several other reviewers, I tried on this coat and found it to be far too small. I typically take a small or medium in shirts and so thought a ten would be perfect. I was wrong. The shoulders are weirdly narrow, especially for a winter coat. I could zip the zipper ok but the pockets gaped (and were also Too Small to be useful). overall the coat felt entirely too light and cheap, especially for how much it cost. It was a birthday present that will definitely be going back. I have purchased many fine sweaters from llbean so this was a huge disappointment. The cheap wool coat I got at a local store 10 years ago was better constructed.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic, Warm & Cozy but prefer older style I really love it - warm & comfy with nice big hood. That said, there are a couple changes from the older version that I'm not a fan of...but I don't think worth holding you back. - not the traditional boxy fit, comes in at the waist (probably more flattering though) - it's a double zipper which I can't stand and seem to always have trouble starting. - loop is a cheap leather - wish it was traditional rope or better quality leather - pockets are angle, interior and not that big. Old style had huge rectangle exterior pockets. Again, current style is probably more flattering but for me who never carries a handbag, less functional.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my coat! I love the classic look of this coat, the stone color, the real leather toggles, and the bone-like buttons. This coat is lined and quilted. I ordered a size I thought would be more roomy, and almost exchanged it for a larger size, but I chose not to, b/c I'll wear this coat with clothes / sweaters that are not so bulky. I've gotten two comments from others on my new coat, and I've only worn it twice! It's unique, I love the hood option, it's quality!! The ONLY thing I worry about is the lighter color...I've two labs...one yellow, one black. SOMEONE's hair will don my new coat...but the stone color shouldn't make it too obvious!
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I Expected After reading MANY reviews, I expected problems with the zipper, cheap toggles, and a tight fit under the arms. The zipper worked for me the first attempt--and I'm really "zipper impaired." The toggles are very nice, and the fasteners seem to be real leather. A size 12P fits me perfectly, and I am 5'6" and 140lbs, but with shortish arms. I can wear one of my many L.L. Bean wool jackets or heavy sweaters under the coat and not feel constricted. The quality of the wool and construction is excellent. My ONLY gripe would be I wish it were a bit longer, but that's what heated car seats are for. I love the coat and am beyond pleased and proud to wear it.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrated By the Size Recommended with caveats. I love the feel of the fabric and the style but I had a very frustrating time getting the right size. I wear an L.L. Bean Large or Extra Large and went through a 16, 18, and 1X with this coat before finally settling on a 20! A 20??? I've never worn a 20 in my life before this coat. My primary difficulties with the sizing were that there's too much material in the hips and not enough across the chest.. I'm glad I kept trying different sizes -- three cheers for Bean's free shipping -- as I really like the color, the fabric and the design but it does make me wonder what body shape was used for the sizing
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Zipper Secret My wife had problems with the zipper on the new coat she really likes. Someone said it would break in over time so I decided to work it till it was right. It worked easily on the 2nd try because I did it differently!!. Here is the Secret. 1) Pull the double zipper to the bottom then LET GO of it. 2) Holding onto the coat, not the zipper, slot the other side in and pull it down to seat it - again without touching the double zipper. Then you can pull the zipper easily. Every time she has done it this way it worked perfectly. I think it has something to do with letting the double zippers set properly. Try it!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Coat This is a well-made quality coat. However two things; the zipper on my coat can be either very easy to zip up or very difficult. You have to get it just right as it just doesn't always catch. Disclaimer: I knew when I got this coat, it was made out of wool. The neckline is also wool, and not lined (like my last coat) so if you have a hard time wearing wool against your skin, this will irritate you. Because I was lucky enough to find this coat in an LL Bean outlet for a steal, I decided to live with this. I would not be able to wear this coat without a soft scarf around my neck. Overall, I give the coat high marks.
Date published: 2017-11-16