Men's Technical Kangaroo Upland Boots with Boa Closure is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great boot, but think mine was missing Goretex! Love BOA, very comfortable, lightweight boot...BUT.. I wore in wet conditions twice. First time was an AZ Monsoon on an early archery elk hunt. Feet were soaked. I paused and said..well I had to hike out in a wicked thunderstorm and was walking in a couple of inches of water for about a mile. Benefit of the doubt given. Well this AM on a late elk hunt with my son, we were out in a gentle rain, not walking in water on ground, just wet grass and steady light rain...for only about 30 minutes....feet soaked again. Not damp, but socks almost soaked thru...I think goretex maybe missing on mine? But back they go. I need waterproof to be waterproof.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Needs attention to quality Plus- boa system. Robust and just fantastic for upland. Fit is excellent Comfort is great Very light and you can hunt all day in them Negatives. Durability, durability, durability Quality control, waterproofness Could be a great pair of boots if LL Bean would just get their quality/durability in-line with the price. I love them but they fall apart and one pair leaked. Pictures are of a 2 day hunt with a brand new pair of boots in Kansas, toe is shredded. Kangaroo should be much more durable. 2nd pair and the first pair did not have this problem but one boot leaked in wet grass.
Date published: 2020-11-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't last Like many of the reviews these boots have some great positives. I love the closure system. Comfortable right out of the box but they don't last. I did not get two hunting seasons out of them. I'm an upland hunter so lots of cover that pulls on your boots. Like others the finger pulls on the back of the boots did not last a year and tore through. The stitching on the boots also pulled apart in year two making the boots virtually useless as they are completely coming apart at the seams. All my hunting boots eventually wear out but for the price of these I would hope you can get more than two seasons out of them. I'm going back to all leather boots. I'm going to miss that closure system.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LL's Gen 2 tech boots-awesome improvements! Avid bird and big game hunter. When I'm not hunting, I train dogs in the field 365 days a years. LL Bean learned from the development of the first generation of this tech boot. The fit, feel, and weight make it the perfect choice for us folks who live the outdoor life. The new materials (kangaroo hide) appear to be more durable yet light weight, very comfortable, water-proof, and supportive for those log days afield. Solid value. I've NEVER written a review but feel compelled to express how pleased I am with this product! I would rate it near perfect but the company should make a non-insulated version.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update of earlier review Let me prefice this review with saying I still think these boots are the best out there, but I am on my 2nd. pair, and now the left boot is leaking AGAIN. I love these things and if there were something I could do to stop them from leaking I would, but I have tried a bunch of things, and my toes are still wet even walking through soaked grass, not standing water. I have a bad knee and tie boots are tough for me so these are perfect...............just wish I could get a pair I can get more than a year out of before they leak. I realize, I am in the boots more than the average hunter, but they still should not leak in one year.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good idea poor execution I have had three pairs of these boots in the past three years. All of these boots have been returned for the same reason. After wearing them for less than two weeks for hard upland hunting they all leaked, and had deterioration of the leather or tech material. I love the fact that they are wearable out of the box, they are lite and the Boa system is fantastic (although on the recent pair of boots the system failed to release without using leverage from a file in my multi-tool). I offered my advise to fix the problems, however, they would rather replace them on in the current case refund my money. If you want a comfortable boot without staying power these are for you.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable but very comfortable The most comfortable boots I've ever had on my feet. Unfortunately the do not last. Bought a new pair last November(2016) by January(2017) stiches started breaking loose. LL Bean sent me a new pair. By end of February(2017) the leather was wore off the toes. They sent me another pair. Those lasted to December (2017). I bought a new pair on Dec. 11th (2017)wore them 3 days in Kentucky and 4 days in Kansas and the leather has wore off the toes again. Wish these boots would last longer.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great boots but they don't last and leak Like many of the other reviewers I love these boots. The Boa closure system is awesome. No more laces coming untied just when the dog starts getting birdy. The boots are so comfortable you can't even tell you have them on. The downside is you only get two seasons out of them. I hunt about 25 times per year and cover a fair amount of ground through thick grass and briars but for this kind of money I was hoping for more wear. They also start leaking after about one season. If LL Bean could find a way to make them last longer than two seasons and not leak my rating would be 5 stars for sure.
Date published: 2016-11-09