Women's Summer Knit Dress is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only dress you need This dress is just perfect! Washes well, doesn't wrinkle, dresses up or down with ease. Make sure you see all the other colors - not attached to this item - search for 'dress' and you'll see purple paisley, teal, etc. I nabbed three of them and came back for one more. I tried it on the store initially and didn't purchase because it was pretty low cut on me. I ordered it and tried a simple broach to close the gap and it works beautifully. You can wear a cami or use a broach as I did if want more modesty. A very hour glass look, a bit 1940's even. I find a small fits perfectly (5'3, 130 lbs small C cup)I hope L.L. Bean makes a long sleeve version for fall - in emerald green!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it, with some suggestions I'm 5'5", 110 lbs. The dress fits absolutely perfectly. Length is great---just a bit below the knee, exactly the way I like. Fabric is light and cool, should be perfect for the hot summer. I bought the black, which is easily dressed up with heels and hose or down with sandals. Suggestions: I'd like to see the waistline at the natural waist---I'm constantly tugging it down. Empire waists emphasize the tummy, which most of us have, especially after having a couple of kids. The second suggestion: a higher neckline, would suggest 1 1/2 inch more. I sewed mine up, but it doesn't look professionally done. Otherwise, it's a great dress.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy as pajamas! I was happy to find a summer dress that has sleeves and falls to the bottom of my knee, which is more flattering for us older women. The neckline is lower-cut than I like, but I bought a "faux camisole" to cover up more in front. At first I was unsure if I would like the polyester knit fabric, but once I put the dress on I was sold - it is as soft and comfortable as my pajamas. For reference, I am 5'1", 115 lbs, 35-28-39, and a Petite Small is a relaxed fit on me. If you're my size and prefer a snugger fit, the Petite XS would probably be good too.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Surplice Needs Tweaking This dress has a lot going for it; lovely fabric, drape and length. However, the surplice neckline is surprisingly immodest as it is a low v and doesn't lay flat. I am surmising that in the image of the model on website, this dress is taped at the surplice portion, giving it an appearance of very close to the body, not too low, and seemingly modest. This is not how it translated while wearing it...even when adding a camisole underneath, it looked a bit sloppy. I've read reviews since purchasing this dress which suggested adding a snap, or hook-and-eye clasp or pinning, but I shouldn't have to alter this, I'd love to see this dress have a true faux surplice that is sewn, providing the illusion of a wrap, that won't open up when moving.
Date published: 2021-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I love this dress! I bought it for work and for travel. It’s the first dress with a wrap style top that I’ve ever felt comfortable wearing. The fabric is stretchy enough to stay in place BUT not so stretchy as to be clingy. The dress looks great but is as comfortable as an old t-shirt. I can comfortably teach in this dress, looking professional. It is long enough that I can bend and move and sit without feeling like I’m exposing myself. At knee length it’s also short enough for summer - warm weather wear. This will be a great dress to pack to travel with as well. It will take less room and look better than shorts and a t-shirt for traveling in Europe, but may be more comfortable. I like this dress so much that I ordered two more in different print fabrics.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from feminine, comfortable, summary I'm a young, not matronly, 70-years old woman. I'm 5'4, 147 pounds, apple shape, shortwaisted with a stomach pouch, broad shouldered, 36C chest. I think mentioning all this will help. Originally I ordered a petite large multi floral indigo dress even though I usually wear a 12. I didn't want it to cling, especially around the chest and the stomach. I returned it as it did just this and was too short. I exchanged it for a large regular. I love it. It is a little long but since I pull the empire waist band underneath my chest, it makes it shorter. I do this as I do not want the band to rest on my waist which I don't have much. That way, the dress is completely empire-style and flows over my stomach not showing my pouch. Also, now it does not gap at the V as it did with a petite. I'm about to order the black one.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great dress! This is my second year of owning this dress and I just purchased additional ones because I love this dress so much. I have purchased both regular and the petite length and the small and medium and love all options. I also have the sleeveless version. Great for pear shapes. Love the fabric and washes very well. It is thin, but not see through and I like the weight of the fabric. Can dress up or down. Great for travel. The only issue I have with this dress is that it is not available in more solid colors. I don't really care for the prints. Please make it in a solid navy and offer more solid on trend colors. Please don't ever stop making the black, though! I would have given it an excellent rating if the prints were better or if offered in more solid colors.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and Comfortable I get a lot of compliments on this dress, which surprises me, so the design must be flattering. It's a great travel dress, and I'm in the car a lot because I live in a rural area. I bought black last year because I'm going to more and more funerals, but it would also work for a cocktail party with different accessories. My only complaint is that L.L.Bean doesn't offer it in more solid colors. I really don't like the prints they offer, and I'd really like to get another dress like this in a light, summery pastel color.
Date published: 2019-07-04