Women's L.L.Bean Boots, 8" Bison is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 332.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leather is stiff/ thick, fit is difficult The red soles do look lovely but the bison leather is very thick and stiff, making it extremely difficult to get in and out of these boots. Once inside, the length and the width are good with just enough room in the toe box -- so I know I have found the right size. However, the height -- where the leather upper meets the rubber -- is awfully tight and uncomfortable. Maybe my feet are too tall? Even if the bean boots fit you well, I would not recommend the bison leather -- the regular leather actually looks better and is softer, making it easier to get in and out of your boots (unfortunately, the red soles are only available with this odd leather option).
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for walking in Europe I purchased these boots to wear on a December trip to Europe. I didn't want to have to take several pairs of shoes/boots and thought these would cover all weather conditions. I couldn't be happier with how they performed. After walking on cobble stone streets and other uneven surfaces for up to 8 hrs a day for a week, my feet didn't hurt at the end of the day, and they stayed warm and dry. I was so excited when they became available again and Aug and jumped on ordering them. I'm so glad I did. If you are on the fence about buying a pair of these great boots, just do it! I do recommend ordering down a size. I wear an 8 and got the 7 - perfect fit!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Warmth I was so excited when I saw these and I ordered them without hesitation! I read all the reviews first and carefully read the description before purchasing. I guess the first clue that these boots provided no warmth, is the fact that the description and reviews kept saying, "great with LL Bean's rag socks!" That is where you would get your warmth with these boots, is from your socks. When I received them in the mail (super fast delivery, as always), I could see they were very well made and seemed that they would last a very long time, keep the snow and slush out and would be great for nonslip. But, NO INSULATION! I need warmth. So, back they go, unfortunately.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Torture I have complete faith in these boots being waterproof and durable. They are also attractive. But the sharp seam between the rubber and leather is pure torture. It cuts off chunks of my skin every time I try to wear them. I added a heel cup to try to lift my ankle bone above the seam, but that did not help. I'm really disappointed because I wanted to love these. I ordered one size down as suggested for normal, everyday socks, and they seem the perfect size - still a bit roomy. But maybe they are really only meant to be worn with thick socks to add protection against that seam...
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WaterProof My number one requirement for this boot was to be waterproof. I live in swampy Florida and although there is also lots of sand here, there's also lots of mud. I need shoes that are waterproof to a point but not bulky or hot. These boots are awesome! My first real "breaking them in" took them to Blue Ridge to do some hiking. Walked through lots of mud on a lake and hiked quite a bit. My foot never got wet from the water or mud. Never had a pair of Bean Boots but I'm a customer for life now. Oh and they look cute as heck on! Great, sturdy, yet fashionable boot.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my take on the sizing issue I have wanted these boots for a year but always backed away after reading reviews about sizing--they really seem to vary with some people wearing their size while others wear 1/2 to 1 size smaller than normal. The average seemed to be a half size, but I wear a whole size so that didn't help. So, here is my experience: I wear a true woman's 9m in most shoes--though one foot is a little smaller. Against my gut feeling I ordered an 8 in these boots. I have tried them on with a variety of sock--right up to my thick Bean Cresta wool socks--and surprisingly they fit perfectly! I am very pleased with them. So long story short--for this reviewer, ordering a WHOLE SIZE smaller worked. Even with thick socks.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buffalo Boot So wonderful were these boots that waiting for fall is going to be hard. I am an 8.5 true. I noticed the men's bison boot had the size down info that usual Bean boots have for sizing. Ex: light sock - 8.5 size down to 7. Some reviewers were happy w/the extra half size, but I had tried the 8 in Bean boots before & they were much too large. Took a leap of faith & ordered the 7 - glad I did. There is a nice insole in these boots & I will be able to wear a mid weight sock, or a lighter weight sock. Really cute all around, not many people I will see on the street will probably have these cute boots. In doubt? Buy them, before they are gone!
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get These Boots! I was so excited when these boots came in the mail. I put them on right away and went to run some errands to break them in. They didn't need any breaking in! They felt so comfortable right away. I needed some boots that worked for the Climate on Vancouver Island - Wet, cool and slushy in the winter, but not freezing. These are great and they look great too. The grip is great on the bottom and I can walk my dog for hours. DEFINITELY order a size down if you aren't planning on wearing giant socks. I am normally a 9, sometimes a 9.5, and I bought an 8 and they are perfect with normal lightweight socks.
Date published: 2013-10-26