Adults' L.L.Bean Fleece Socks is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 800.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fleece socks Have bought these fleece socks in the past and was more than pleased with them. Recently purchased yet another pair and found the sock well made, fabric is soft to touch and of good quality BUT found the sizing is off. Foot seems true to size however the leg portion is much "tighter" than in the past seasons. I "matched" them up with a pair I ordered from last year and there is a significant difference. Kept the Medium (will give them to my grand daughter) and ordered the Large. The foot on the Large is way too big for me but the leg is more in line with last year's Medium. Will gift this pair also and hope that my old fleece socks get through another season!
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cute stripes, but difficult to get on I am so sad these socks did not work for me. I have a normal size 8 foot. It is not overly wide or anything. I ordered the size small which is supposed to fit a woman's size 81/2 to 91/2. It was almost impossible to get these socks on! I have had fleece socks before from other companies and they had more stretch to them, but these did not. Ordering a size up would not be a good idea, because the foot is cut and sewn to fit the size you order. There would be too much fabric there in a larger size. I loved the striped pattern and the fabric was so soft. This is why I gave them two stars. Just wish it didn't wear me out to put them on and take them off. I sent them back.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lousy Fit on S-M-L Purchases After years of 100% satisfaction with all clothing purchased from LL Bean in the past ... deeply disappointed in the LL Bean socks. Only one color available so bought one of each (Small, Medium and Large). I bought all three sizes figuring each would fit one member of my family. Once washed, couldn't distinguish between small, medium and large. Sock itself didn't label size. Very little difference between medium-large and 'slight difference with small'. Tried all on my own feet ... foot part large and ankle and higher part of sock very snug. I got them on sale - but wasn't worth it. I would not purchase this product again.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these but patterns are mostly hideous I have two pair, and I bought 1 for my mom last year and she requested another. We have a cold house, and I wear them at night to sleep. Unlike my other heavy wool socks, they dont slip off or get too hot. (NB: I am not a wool hater and knit with it all the time.) But seriously LL Bean, the patterns are awful Very 80s or just plain ugly. Could you do snowflakes? Fir trees? pine cones? I'd even buy little dogs (and I don't have a dog). Why not a warm red? a couple of your nice plaids? You don't have to reinvent the wheel. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE FLEECE! Just received two more pairs of the above in the mail. I was a little concerned re sizing based on reviews. All good however. I wear a size 8 1/2 shoe (women's) and the small fit fine. If you were at the large end of the sizing range, you MIGHT wish to go up one size. This do fit snug - but not uncomfortably so (and I have large ankles, calves). Fit more like a sock than a traditional slipper sock. Also note they are more the height of an athletic sock. I'd love them higher, but that probably wouldn't fit well with the limited stretch of fleece. I'll likely order more. I wear them inside rubber rain boots as opposed to the liners as I find them warmer and they keep my feet drier.
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very soft but don't fit When he socks arrived my children and I snipped a small hole in the plastic package so we could compare how soft these socks were next to a pair of older socks (from another manufacturer). Both pair were fleece but these being newer they were definitely softer. We were very impressed and happy to have purchased them as a gift for my wife. However......my wife is unable to get her foot into the socks. She wears a size 9 shoe so according to the size chart the these should have fit. Comparing the size between her old socks and these new ones it's very evident that size 8.5-9.5 mean different things between companies. I would rate these 5 stars if they fit.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Men's fleece Socks - A Yes with reservations My husband has loved these socks from L.L. Bean for years. They are very warm for around the house, for wearing to bed, and they even fit in his everyday shoes for outdoor wear when it is very cold. However, I think L.L. Bean must be using a new manufacturer for these socks because they seem to be made smaller. A Large was perfect in past years but now is tight. The socks also do not seem to be sewed as carefully. I have sent the last few pairs back for exchanges because various seams opened up or were not completely sewn together to begin with. L.L Bean always exchanges them, but it is not convenient to have to keep doing that.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fleece Socks good and bad The socks are not made like they were some years back. My Mom love the fleece socks so I decided to order her a pair. I did read the reviews about "narrow/too small". I ordered the men XL hoping this would help. Well! it didn't....my mom wears a size 10 wide. Feet swells a lot. Had a VERY HARD time putting on the socks (Too narrow at the opening). She doesn't like them. I wear an 8M and of course they fit but too big. So what I'm saying is if you have a wide foot and or deal with swelling you will have trouble. No I will not purchase another pair for her. But for me yes...smaller size.
Date published: 2015-11-09