Premium Cotton Towels is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 501.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Premium... Except for ALL the thread loop pulls! We have 4 pairs of bath towels and washcloths. Large, very thick, sturdy. But I specifically hoped LLBean "premium" towels wouldn't get those shaggy loop pulls like department store towels. After a couple washings and only fluffing in the dryer (to hang to dry), these towels also have those unsightly long loops randomly across the towel. I wish someone made towels that didn't "sprout" like that. It seems the striped towel version does it less. And the washcloths don't. Tighter weave?? I also tried LLBean's Textured towels. They didn't get those loops, but are much thinner.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terry-rific Towels! These towels are absolutely awesome! I bought a set at a home goods store (BIG mistake) and am STILL trying to get all the sizing and lint out. I still needed another set and thought why not LLBean? Best decision I could have made. For a very small increase in price, and free shipping, I got a product that is superior to anything I have encountered in a store. My husband noticed the difference right away and he is a tough critic. He expects his towels to be thick and absorbent and can't stop telling folks about these. I have learned my lesson to head to LLBean first for just about anything now.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just not the same Just like my sons favorite shoe, you have changed my favorite towel. Having purchased several of these Premium Cotton Towels a few years back, I am so disappointed. The change is in the Loops which it appears everyone is experiencing. My old Premiums have no loops, yet these new ones do. Very sad. The old towels also dry better. Why, why, why ??? do you have to keep changing things?? If it is not broke, do not fix it. Oh, broke $ might just be the key here. These new ones must be more cost effective, at the expense of your quality. No more Premiums for me.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These towels are the best anybody makes These towels are awesome. In the past couple of years, I've purchased alot of expensive towels, searching for one that is truly absorbent. LL Bean's Premium Cotton Towel beats anything I've purchased. I love that they are resistant to staining from benzyl peroxide as I've had house guests who have ruined my colored towels by using cosmetics with this ingredient. I just wish LL Bean would offer more neutral colors for this product. I would love to see a gray color available, for example. I purchased LL Bean's Egyptian Cotton Towels (for the gray color) and they are absorbent, but they stayed wrinkled when I removed them from the dryer.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft AND actually absorbs! Bought as a gift for my boyfriend. He had "fluffy" towels that somehow managed to smear the water around on your skin without absorbing much of it. They felt great to touch and looked nice hanging there, but were awful as towels. After his first use of this bath sheet, he volunteered that he saw why I didn't like his original towels very much, and agreed that this one is way better at absorbing water. It also dries VERY well between uses (something I worry about with super-thick towels that are a little bit too good at holding water). I will be buying more!
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Strange Discoloration I purchased bath towels, hand towels and, washcloths in light blue, dark blue, and a light green/grey color. The light blue and light green/grey washcloths have developed dark areas of discoloration. I have not used bleach and I do not do gardening or any other activity which could cause them to look like this. No other washcloths I have ever had have ever done this. It has not happened to the towels. I tried to remove these dark areas but no stain removers had any effect. I soaked it in Lestoil which removes almost anything but nothing happened. They are not stains. They look dirty and unsightly.
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I bought a pair of these same towels one year ago and was very happy with them. I ordered two more last month, and was disappointed to find the towel were not as thick and heavy, and don't feel as absorbent. The price has gone up too. I really hate shopping around the stores for towels, so many cheap ones out there, I was counting on LL Bean to make this a easy no-brainer. At the price charged, I should really be thrilled with the product. On the plus side, the towels arrived in 2 days, on regular shipping.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Updated review, downgraded I am updating my review from 5 to 2 stars. I've had these towels for less than 3 years and over time they have become so rough that I can no longer use them. I'd give them only 1 star, but they have remained in good shape (no pulls, bad seams, etc.). They simply are not soft anymore. Even my husband, who is ordinarily oblivious to this kind of thing, said using these towels is like drying off with sandpaper. I am very careful about washing them, following directions to the letter and using minimal, mild laundry detergent (Nellie's Laundry Soda) and only vinegar in the rinse cycle. Especially considering the cost of these towels (and the fact that I bought 6 sets of bath and hand towels), I would have expected better than a 2.5 year life.
Date published: 2018-02-12