Women's Winter Warmer Coat is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 2568.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Meets the expectations. I have purchased this coat specifically for mid-season weather, when it is too early for a heavy winter coat, but jackets with sweaters or fleece-lined parka do not keep me warm. I was wearing this coat while walking my dog in a nasty windy morning, when it suddenly started raining, pouring. We both were wearing coats. Perfect! No negative effect from the weather. It's wind- and water-proof. I am 132 pounds 5'4, and regular medium size would allow a thick sweater under this coat, when needed. Another good detail is that the hood of this coat is lined with some fabric that does not allow it to slide off your head. Very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for basic winter, but not for deep freeze I bought this coat last winter and love it for day-to-day use for moderate cold. I was *shocked* to see it rated for -35 when I was looking at other coats just now. Absolutely not. No way, no how. I live in Fairbanks, AK. We get deep freeze cold, but even with no wind and no humidity, I don't wear this coat when it's colder than -10, and at that temp, I only wear it with either layers or a heavy sweater underneath. For a place with wind and/or humidity, this coat is probably good to +10. If you're looking for a great coat for average weather, this is good. But if you're looking for something for the polar vortex, don't even consider this one.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zipper is Terrible! Hello! I was excited for this jacket based on it being longer and the navy color was appealing. I read the other reviews regarding the two way zipper and even watched the "How to" video on how to use it. I figured, "no problem! I can handle this!" but evidently cannot. The second zipper never locks into place for ease of zipping "normally." The zipper itself is becoming chipped and I fear it may break from me trying over and over and over again to zip this jacket up! I would not recommend this jacket until they improve the zipper. I am so unhappy that the jacket that seemed so appealing is now becoming a hassle.
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm and comfortable I first ordered the Petite Medium because I have another Bean Coat/Down & long, and that is a roomy Petite Medium, but this coat was a bit snug and the arms were too short. That meant that layering when it got really cold here in MN was not going to work. And yes the zipper is in on the wrong side but it still works great. You just have to get used to it. Think how great it is for Left Handers! I liked this coat so much, I exchanged it for the Regular Large and it is quite roomy now, so a fleece will fit under it nicely, and the arms are the right length. The zipper is really no problem. A little flexibility is all you need.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort ranges For those who disagree with the comfort ranges, LLBean has information on how a coat is given a comfort range. Basically, the comfort range assumes layering underneath. Therefore, the comfort range of -35 would assume that you have both thermals and wear a light fleece underneath -- vest or top. Layering is the way to go. For looking for a coat that goes to zero to 20 (the northeast), you have to practice with layers to reach your comfort zone with any coat. I always wear a microfiber light jacket underneath or a fleece shirt, with my regular clothes, though I rarely wear thermals. We don't get to -35 in NY. Last Winter, I wore this almost every day.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pros & Cons, depending on your needs Pros -effectively warm til about 20F -rugged material can handle wear 'n tear -waist cincher for some shape -easy to layer underneath (i tested with silk thermal and down sweater) -wind-proof -water resistant Cons -not suited for -35F weather, as stated -makes noise when moving -fleece lining color an ugly grey-brown ("like a rat", said another reviewer) -zipper is abominable (see many similar reviews!) -does not pack easily, too big to stow -cut large and boxy** **Garment Measurements on the XS Regular are 41.5" chest 16" cross shoulder 45.5" sweep (circumference at hem) 33.75" center back (31.75 for XS Petite) 32.75" sleeve (31.5 for XS Petite)
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The coat I've been looking for For two years I have been trying on coats in stores with no luck. I saw this coat in the L.L. Bean catalog, liked how it looked, read the reviews and thought I'd give it a try. I measured according to their directions, and ordered the large. It's sized right, is light weight and comfortable in the car, but is warm. I wasn't cold walking around New York City on a cold windy day. The hood stays on, and I love the soft fleece in the pockets and on the back and hood. I also like that they have a draw string around the waist, so it doesn't have a boxy look....and to top it off, you can throw it in the wash. I guess you can tell....I am very happy with this purchase :-)
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Game Changer To say this is a winter game changer, for me, is a big deal. I live in Canada. In a very cold part of Canada. I have experienced more frigid, horrible winters than I care to count. Yet I haven't been bothered by the weather this year as I have in years past. I credit the coat, because the mercury has dipped to record lows. This coat is warm, the cinched in waist gives a bit of style, but this is not a piece worn for its fashion! The fabric stops the wind from penetrating. I highly recommend this coat for outdoor activities, shovelling, walking, commuting, etc. I have used it in -40 (that's american AND canadian) and been comfortable.
Date published: 2015-02-14