Men's Pa'tridge Strap Vest II is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potential anoyance with game bag zippers While I haven't actually used this vest I found the game bag zippers to have a little bit of a learning curve. If you do not have the zipper "pull" pointing down the zipper will not stay up. If the zipper pull is pointing upwards a small amount of tension on both sides will force the slider all the way to the bottom. A significant problem considering it's a game bag and will be stuffed full of birds on a regular basis. To me it will be a nagging reminder to constantly check my zipper position. That's something I never thought I would have to worry about. I need to mention this is a quality vest and I think I am going to enjoy it a lot.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old Model Thoroughly tested I have been hunting with the older model Men's Pa'tridge Strap Vest for several years. I purchased the vest on clearance before the new model appeared. I have been very satisfied with the vest. A strap vest allows me to adjust my layers for the weather at hand; wet,dry,cold or warm. Range of motion is exceptional. The vest provides ample storage for shells, 2 water bottles, dog 1st aid kit and snacks. The straps are a handy place to clip your dog collar remote or handheld GPS. The waxed cotton (my older model seems a bit thicker than the new) is holding up well and gives a classic look. When it comes out of the closet, my Springer Spaniel goes nuts. I'm not sure why you'd use anything else.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible sizing This vest looks really good, but if you have a relatively normal sized build, this vest won’t work. I’m a 32 inch waist, 5’9 and 160 lbs. I could not adjust the straps enough for the back support belt to go on my waist, instead it was on my butt. The main belt that has the bellows pockets is oversized as well. This was a swing and miss by LL Bean. I think the M/L should be changed to a L/XL, and a whole new sizing pattern should be incorporated for the men that don’t have waist sizes 42 and up, and are not tall.
Date published: 2019-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Product This is a well made, comfortable vest. Heavy duty canvas, super tough webbed straps and buckles, and it's sewn together like a tow strap! The lumbar support is a great feature. Plenty of storage space that's quite easily accessible too. I'm pretty average sized 5'10" 185lbs. I ordered the medium/large and with the belly strap as tight as it goes, it's still a little big. The only thing that could make this vest better is a smaller size! I spend 100+ days a year training and hunting afield and I'd recommend this vest to anyone. It's a great product!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the money I hunt in Northern NH and Northern NY (ADK) and generally put on 8-10 miles of walking in northern terrian a day. In the past I have hunted with a full upland vest and have always felt the weight of ammo, gear and game after a good days walk. The supsension in the vest is awesome! it's amazing how much weight you can transfer to your hips. I had 3 grouse, one rabbit and one large moose shed strapped to the vest and could barely notice it.I would have given it a five if the water bottle holders were easier to access, if the side zippers had a button/ snap to keep the zipper from opening (never did but it might?) and it was made in the USA. Would hands down recommend this vest to anyone else though. I would highly recommend buying the northweave blaze long sleeve to go with it as it lacks enough blaze for my liking.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Vest for the $. Could be excellent w minor ch Well made, durable and plenty of room for water ammo and gear on most hunts. My only minor complaint and why I can't give it 5 stars is lack of rear adjustment. The swivel is unnecessary and should be replaced with an adjustable strap. I have to wear the waist portion down around my butt. If I try to wear it around my waist, it pushes the shoulder harness up in to my neck and bows the back pad out becoming very uncomfortable. I've learned how to wear it and gotten used to it, but a few tweaks could truly make this the best strap vest
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good vest I'm a bit surprised by all the people complaining about it interfering with shouldering a shotgun. They must only shoot in a bare T-shirt apparently. The foam is no more than 1/4" thick and I have no issues shouldering my shotgun. It's cool and comfortable, which is what I was looking for (use it in September, early October). The game bag isn't huge, but it works well for grouse/woodcock hunting. What's holding me back from giving it 5 stars? 3 things. First, I'm tall and skinny (6'3" 180#) and the top clip, I can't cinch it down as much as I'd like, so it's a tad loose, but in actual use, didn't notice it much. Second, the pockets need a minimum of 2 more shell holders each (there's plenty of room for them too!), LLBean really needs to bump that up. I hate having loose shells in the pockets. Third, the game-bag zippers right by the bottle holders. They have a tendency to unzip a bit (inch or so). They really need a snap cover or something to block them from working down (which they do mostly when inserting water bottles)
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comfortable but lacks in useability I love the comfort of this vest. But the stiff panel in the back makes it difficult to stuff birds in the vest, and the zippers on the back almost always slide open when putting birds into the vest. If you buy this vest expect to have to have to take it off 50% of the time in order to put your birds in it.
Date published: 2019-12-04