Women's Maine Guide Wool Parka, PrimaLoft is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket I have been reading the descriptions and reviews of all the winter jackets and coats, looking for something that would work for me without negatives that seemed to be problems. From the comments, this jacket stood out - and its Primaloft fill was a big plus. It just arrived, and I am delighted with it. The attention to detail is wonderful, the material is very high end, the zipper is sturdy and works easily (unlike with other Bean outerwear I have owned) and, though it isn't meant to be stylish, it has a very cool, retro look. It is clearly very warm, and constructed to be snug. I am set for another miserable winter if we are slammed again.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely in love! I had been looking for a jacket to replace a Jacket I had worn out after 7 years, and found this. I wanted a jacket for outdoor use, yard work, hiking, snow shoes, sledding etc. I read all the reviews and took the purchase very seriously as I am not a shopper. I was a bit worried about the sleeve length, but for no reason. I took all my measurements, followed the garment specs and chose the large. This is ABSOLUTELY the best, most wonderful jacket I have ever had, ever. I love, love, love this jacket. It fits to a T. It looks amazing and I will have it a long time. I hope they always have it. Fantastic! Perfect for Wisconsin/Michigan winters.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Unique, Warm & Comfortable" I ordered & received this coat just before a severe cold snap where I live, therefore I wore it straight away. I ordered up a size (Medium) thinking that it would be a little large & room to wear a bulky sweater underneath. It fit perfect and is so warm that a heavy sweater is not needed. Nice plaid in red/black. The faux leather patchs embelishment in back is a nice touch but I'm not sure if there is a purpose for the snaps on the lower back. Not a criticism. A nice addition to this coat would be a hood or a deeper collar that could be turned up and snapped to block the wind & moisture. This is a great coat and is my new fave in cold, cold weather.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wonderful Jacket! Just "test drove" my new jacket. Roomy but can be narrowed through waist. Great pockets. Amazing strong zipper. Was warm enough over a light shirt and light vest. With plenty of room to layer if I want to. Nice and long over the hips. Love the plaid! One thing I also loved. You can go into a store and not feel overly warm. This thing goes from hot to cold with no need for taking it on and off. So many nice features. I should add that I'll be 70 in March and I think this is a jacket for ANY age! I expect this to last me the rest of my life. And enable winter walks and errands alike. I love it!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept me warm at -7 F This is the second season for this coat.This coat has kept me warm and dry though this nasty winter season. I love all the pockets, especially the pockets at chest level. They tend to keep my hands the warmest, while the side pockets allow me to carry keys, dog leash, treats etc without compromising warming the hands. The pocket on the back bottom of the coat enables one to carry extra clothing, ie gloves or face warmer. I almost didn't buy this coat because of the cost, but I am sure glad I did. It's a good choice. The wool holds up to wind, wear but doesn't make you feel like a marshmallow like the puffy coats might. Its not heavy either. I am so glad I bought this coat. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to Find a Womens Coat Like This! I was looking for the womens version of my husband's wool hunting jacket. This is it! I saw many reviews saying the coat was unflattering. This coat is made for keeping you warm and dry. It has room for layers underneath it for the desired degree of warmth. If you picture yourself out in the Montana woods in winter with a foot or more of snow on the ground on snowshoes or horseback, this is the coat for you. LL Bean gets back to its outdoor roots with this coat. It's made for rugged, utilitarian wear, not for flitting around the mall--and that's truly flattering!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Itchy My daughter super wanted to love this coat. She is really into plaid and has outside farm chores in the cold early morning hours. This coat seemed perfect, not girly, wool, super warm. But it is huge on her, in the smallest size. Also the collar is really big and weird looking and it's not lined all the way up the neck part so super itchy. We are wool loving people, so know what to expect with wool, and like it better than synthetic fibers, but this was too itchy, too big with weird collars and weird pockets. The men's option looks better, but as I said, woman's small was huge on my teen age girl. Had to go back, super sadly
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a Fashion Coat, a Guide Wool Coat! I'll start by saying this is not a fashion coat. It isn't meant to be. If you're looking for a fashion coat, don't buy this. It is a 'Guide' Wool Parka. Look up the definition if you don't know what a Guide is, but the long and short of it is someone who spends a lot of time outside, in the woods! This coat is great for that. I am 5' 7", about 165 lbs., DD bust, and very broad shouldered. I originally ordered the Large and it was WAY too big, especially in the waist. I returned it for the Medium and it fits well, though I can tell I lost a lot of room in the arms and chest. With my broad shoulders, it restricts my movement just slightly, but I am used to that. This will be a coat that I have forever. It is very well-made and provides excellent warmth.
Date published: 2016-02-23