Down-Alternative Damask Pillow is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 185.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Complete Me Dear Down-Alternative Damask Pillow, Where have you been all my life? Before we met my life was full of neck aches, sleepless nights, and stiff shoulders. Now I wake with a smile and bounce out of bed, swinging, and singing, and getting merry like Christmas! With my long neck and broad shoulders, finding a pillow to fit me has been a long, treacherous road of gleeful unboxing videos, uncomfortable nights, and tearful returns. Finally! I found you! You are the perfect blend of firmness and comfort. You are soft but supportive. You don’t smell like rubber gloves or a crowded chicken coop. God bless the broken road that led me straight to you!
Date published: 2020-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noxious I previously purchased the medium standard which was fine, though it lost some of its firmness quickly. I now purchased the firm queen which was something else altogether. The pillow reeked of petroleum blended with an additional unholy but unidentifiable odor. After a few hours of gagging I threw the pillow overboard. I was unaware that PrimaLoft is in fact a petroleum-derived product. That should be enough to put the consumer off, but this particular pillow apparently had an irresistible longing to remain close to its chemical roots. The LL Bean that I began purchasing items from over fifty years ago would never have carried a product like this.
Date published: 2021-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not hold up These pillows start out nice, but after 6 months they start clumping together even following the washing instructions. After a year, forget it. They cost a bit more so I was hoping it would be a decent investment, I've always trusted LL Bean's quality but this completely failed. After trying to salvage these things and using them for 2 years they are giving both my husband and myself horrible neck pain, they are beyond lumpy, and they feel like a bad knock off of my pillow. If you really want something that is similar to down and can use the real feathers, I highly recommend that instead. This is nothing like that at all.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much fill I have been buying Soft Standard LLBean pillows for at least 8 years. I like a very soft pillow without a lot of fill and have always found them to be perfect! They are good quality and last a long time. However, I purchased a new lot of 2 of these pillows in December and they are not the same. They have more fill than normal and are too firm. LLBean says they have not changed vendors, so I'm hoping it was just one bad production run? These new pillows give me neck cramps, so they are going back. Please LLBean double check quality control on these pillows. I do not want to have to find a new pillow source!
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Which firmness is the right fit? Before purchasing two Down-Alternative Damask Pillow, I had read reviews on L.L. Bean's website which all seemed to prove true. As someone who has always liked a firm pillow, I was not sure which firmness to order. In the end, I ended up keeping one firm and one medium firmness pillow because I couldn't decide and have been switching between both. After having them for more than a month, I have found that the firmness has definitely broken in. If you like a firm pillow, don't let previous reviews discourage you from ordering this item. Once again, I have been pleased by L.L. Bean's home items and customer service.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional pillow with a surprise bonus I ordered two of these pillows for the guest bed, but when I replace my feathers/down pillows that are on the master bed, it will be with more of these. They are lofty and very well made. Outer fabric covers are made in China, but they are filled in the USA. The bonus is a very well constructed plastic shipping bag for each pillow that will be very useful. The zipper runs the length of the bag, and there are carry handles - far superior to any shipping bag I have received previously and discarded. These pillows are an excellent value for the price, and I love the bonus!
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleep Better I have had this pillow for two months now, so I think I can give it a review. I have tried so many pillows and have tossed and turned all night and have had a neck issue and morning headaches. It takes a little bit to get it just right under my head. I may have to flip it over a few times and make adjustments to get it in the right place, but that happens fairly quickly and I fall asleep and usually sleep through the night. I haven't fallen asleep this quickly and slept through the night in years, so I know it is the pillow. I got it in the standard medium. Not sure if the soft would work even better. I may purchase the soft. It would be worth the money to try it out. I will wait for a 25% markdown.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lumps, Clumps This must be poor grade of Primaloft, or NOT Primaloft at all. It acts like Polarguard. When I washed it, it lumped and clumped. The cotton cover is so dense that the water held in it like a bucket. I stood on it in a laundry basket over the garage drain to squeeze the water out. It took hours to dry, despite shaking the stuffing repeatedly, and after wrapping it in towels to soak up the excess water. I am very familiar with sleeping bags and outdoor jackets insulated with polarguard, primaloft and down. NEVER have I experienced such a wet, soggy mass, that even when dry remains clumpy and lumpy. You will regret washing these pillows! Junk! I would never buy another.
Date published: 2021-01-05