Adventure Duffle, Small is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 125.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love but could use an inner pocket I just got done road-testing this on a vacation. It wears well and is really functional for air travel. The zippered outer pocket saved my life. I was able to keep my ID, phone, and keys in an easy to get to but secure place. Also, I found the padded strap to be very comfortable and helpful when I wanted to wear the bag crossbody. My only quibble is that for a bag with so much to offer on its exterior, it is so formless and devoid of function on the inside. I wish the interior had an added zippered pocket and one of those rings that you can clip your keys to. But I do appreciate that none of the features for the bigger versions were left off the smallest version.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eventually wears out. I have had this duffle bag for 10 years, taking it to the gym 5 nights a week. It's been in my car trunk most of the time, going through years of temperature extremes. It's an ideal size to fit in a gym locker. The past year, it's plastic waterproof coating has been flaking off, with small flakes getting into everything. I just bought another one and fully expect another 10 years of near daily use. Also, it would be nice to have another zipper compartment instead of just one. The one it has is quite small. Between the plastic flaking, and the small zipper compartment, I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5. That said, you really can't go wrong with this bag.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gym Bag - Perfect Size So I was nervous having read reviews that the bag is small. I have 10.5 men's sneaker, easily room, it'd take 13's and still have a ton of space. Holds my towel, my collared shirt, hiking shorts, heavy leather belt, soap holder, socks, t shirt, underwear, without being crammed by any means. There is room for more too. Not sure why this wouldn't be more than big enough for any Gym bag, was very, very pleased with size, quality, everything. Love the green color. I have no idea what people are talking about, this bag being too small for gym, what am I missing? It holds everything and more than what I need.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bag, great size! Was surprised at how small I thought it was when it arrived! With my 90 year old husband having Alzheimer’s and being 100% responsible for everything, all the time, I needed to be able to get him through airport and carry a bag with extra clothes, meds, small quilt for lap during flight, neck pillow and a pair of pajamas in case we got separated from larger bag.....there are some straps that let you make the bag smaller... I rolled the lap throw and strapped it on top...I had it all and a spare nightshirt for me! This little bag was a really great purchase and it stores in a small bag that came with it. Fits easil6 under seat too! Try it!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Adventure Duffle My small black adventure duffle's metal strap attachment broke off (seems to be a recurring problem per the reviews) but LL Bean graciously offered to replace the bag for me, which I did. I cannot stress how excellent LL Bean's service is and how appreciative I am of just how much they stand behind what they make and / or sell. This small duffle bag is perfect for the gym, an overnight stay or as a travel companion to carry extra stuff as a personal item on flights. I look forward to many more years of use out of this item.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Note: wonderful bag, but the size has changed! I love these bags, and have several. I use them for carry ons, and they hold enough for me for any trip - I never check luggage. However, I just bought a new one to replace a very old battered one, and the same listed size (medium) is significantly larger than the old ones. When I re-checked the dimensions, I found that it is too large for the carry-on requirements for the airline I am next flying. I'll still keep it since it's great for other things, but you should note the dimensions before planning to use it on airlines. And to LLBean: why did you change the sizes????
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits under an airplane seat I bought the small duffel for an overseas trip specifically so I could carry it on and it would fit under an airplane seat. It fits nicely and also stows easily in the overhead compartment. It held plenty of gear, including a fairly fragile basket that I carried back home with me. The zippered storage pouch was helpful for holding small items and the bright yellow color made it easy to keep an eye on it. I would make two changes. 1. The plastic part of the shoulder strap was not helpful. If not aligned properly it slides off the shoulder, and in the hustle of getting through security and onto a plane who has time to worry about the alignment of a shoulder strap? 2. The exterior pocket was nice for my passport and boarding pass. Some interior pockets for valuables would be helpful.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right A previous small duffle gave up the ghost, so I ordered another company's small duffle. (Sorry, L.L. Bean. I didn't think it through.) If that thing is "small," I'm Meryl Streep. I could have packed it for six weeks at Ice Station Zebra and still have had plenty of room for snacks and books. It was heavy, too, and fully capable of surviving a direct hit from a rocket-propelled grenade. These are features and qualities that others will find desirable. I just wanted something durable in which to stash my toiletries and a change of clothes and be able to put in the overhead bin without blacking out. The Adventure Duffle is just right: right size, lightweight, sturdy, and colorful. You should get one!
Date published: 2019-02-27