Family Archery Set is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great beginner set The arrows aren't great, but the bow is fantastic. I'm a 5'3" woman, 100 lbs, and I got the 20lb bow. I think it's perfect because I can get a lot of practice in before I'm too tired and shaky to shoot straight. At some point I'll graduate to a higher poundage when I get stronger and solidify my technique so I don't strain myself with too much weight. I think it's a great beginner set, but you should get the Easton arrows that LL Bean also sells. Those are much better than the arrows that come with this set. But you can't beat the price for this bow, especially with the case, stringer, & arrow rest already set up for you.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bow, bad arrows This bow is nice - well made, good quality string, and fun to shoot. Buy this package for the bow. The included arrows are horrible. The tips are fitted as caps on the shaft, which ensures that once they penetrate something hard from a wild shot, the caps will be pulled off when removing the arrow. Additionally, the arrows included with our Large Left handed version are too small. Advertised draw length is 28 inches, and the arrows measure 27 inches from inner nock to end without the tip. Arrows SHOULD be Draw Length + Tip length + 1 inch. Don't buy for the arrows! Expect to buy better arrows.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Value and Quality As an aging bow shooter with neck problems from shooting more powerful bows, I was looking for a top quality bow with a 20-pound pull weight. I bought this hoping it would be the usual LL Bean quality. I discovered this was a Samick bow, made by the venerable South Korean company in a country with a grand bow tradition. This is a great bow. Smooth, quiet, and with surprising power. The workmanship is super, the bow handsome and well-crafted. I'm able to use the bow without pain to my neck, and I'm pleased with its accuracy and precision. I'm delighted.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good set I bought two left handed sets, one for my 12 y/o daughter and one for my 9 y/o son. Assembly instructions are pretty clear and it was not hard to string the bow. (Be careful, read them 3 times first and go slowly; you'll get it.) I'd have to agree with some comments on the adult version that the accessories are not that great. Also, the arrows are ok. My rating is based significantly on the bow, which is both beautiful and functional, and the overall set. One other small negative, one instruction set was not complete and didn't have the archery instructions. Fortunately, my kids had taken a class or two and knew the drill.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good recurve bow and a word of advice I recently decided to take up target archery at home. The bow in this kit is an excellent choice and I am impressed with its quality. It is easy to string and unstring using the handy stringing tool. I will add one piece of advice, based on my experience. While this is called a "family" archery set, it is a real archery set. As such, I needed to work on my shoulder and upper back strength for two weeks before being able to do a full draw of 29 pounds (and I am still working on strength building). I recommend that, if you are serious about the sport, find one of the excellent online archery instruction blogs to learn properly. Also, purchase additional arrows as other reviewers have suggested. That said, I love this bow.
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bow The bow itself is beautifully constructed from different colors of wood and polished. It is a "real" recurve bow, drilled and threaded for accessories (counterweights, sights etc) if you're into those things. It feels like something you'd see on the Olympics. The 20# Draw weight proved ideal for 10 yr olds new to archery, although someone older would want more zip. The bow string has a finger-friendly plastic sleeve to grip, which I had not seen before, This is a really nice touch. Good arrows, stringer works well. The take-down design is solid and makes the bow easy to pack for camping trips.The only downside was the quiver which doesn't really function as it is too short to hold the arrows without tipping over.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family Archery Set I got the 30 lb draw set for my son on his 14th birthday. The bow is beautiful and assembled together effortlessly. The staff that assisted us was very helpful and knowledgeable on archery. I'm giving four stars only due to the arrows that are provided with the set. They wouldn't shoot straight on our 1st outing, and thought it was technique. However, the next day we went out and bought some youth carbon arrows (28.5") and that made all the difference in the world. Nice straight shots and he was hitting the target repeatedly.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great archery set! This is a well made archery set. I like what I call the finger cushions on the string. It is very comfortable on your fingers when you don't shoot on a regular basis. It comes with a storage bag that keeps everything together when storing. What I don't like is the arm guard that comes with it. It is flimsy, thin, maybe an inch wide. A better arm guard should be included. I just went to the sports store and bought a good one, no big deal for me. Just be aware. It comes with three good quality arrows. Don't let the arm guard deter you from this bow and arrow set. I bought four of them. Two 20# and two 29# draws. They are great for recreational archery. I have family get togethers several times through out the year and they are a big hit. I recommend these.
Date published: 2014-01-01