Men's Waterfowl Sweater is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 382.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Look at the review date! Not the same sweater now I bought one of these in 2012 or so. I loved it!! Amazing wool. Generous cut -so much so I ordered a medium at 6'4" 210. I thought this summer I'll get the jump and order one now before they sell out. The 2014 version is NO WHERE near the same. First the material feels more like a heavy cotton and is not the rich wool it was. Second the sizing has changed and a medium now is about 3-4"smaller cut (I compared the 2012 to the 2014 side by side). I returned the 2014 version ~very disappointing. IT felt more like a mid level department store sweater and not the quality LL Bean product it once was. Sad. Why dont companies get it? You cant make things worse every year. Charge me a few bucks more and keep the quality!!!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Neck Too Big I purchased the navy Waterfowl Sweater. Out of the box, I was surprised at the weight of the sweater and its thickness, not that that is a bad thing. It is a serious sweater that I wanted to like. But the neck was just way too wide, even zipped all the way up. I am 6 feet tall and weigh 185 and am no pencil neck. I would say that this sweater needs a re-design. Unless you don't mind a cowl, or have a very thick neck, I'd look elsewhere until this is fixed. I ordered the standard L size which fit fine everywhere else. I was quite happy with the Commando Fatigue Henley sweater, also heavy gauge, which I ordered at the same time.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm, comfortable sweater This is an outstanding sweater. The quality for the price is right on. Heavy knit, it is warm. This is not a slim fitting sweater, so if you are looking for that, look at other products. I bought this for duck hunting and it works great as a warm midlayer...I looked at other brands and fleeces and for me this is the best option. The thing is, it is such a nice sweater that I think I will buy another color for daily life... I am right between a medium and large in t-shirt sizes, glad I went with the medium size, I can still layer a shirt and flannel under it no problem. Awesome purchase, will definitely buy again.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, very comfortable and excellent quality. I purchased the Waterfowl sweater in Navy and Sable in size medium. I reviewed all the comments concerning the colors, size, fit and the collar. The medium fit perfect, I am 5'11', 175 lbs., waist 34", sleeve length 34". I did not find any problem with the stand up collar being to course or irritating as some of the reviews mentioned. There is room if you also want to wear a light shirt as well. The colors pictured in the catalog were true in color. The weather her in NYC has not been cold enough yet to wear, but I am looking forward wearing them in the Fall and Winter. I am a very satisfied L.L. Bean customer.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sweater Ever Bought 1 for myself for Christmas and loved it so much I bought another. The color was not as shown on the light gray (Sable?) maybe - looks light gray online but in reality it was more of a light rust color. Not great but it was so comfortable and warm I decided to keep it. Took a chance on a second one, the green one, and that was exactly like the picture shown. I wear them all the time. Very soft wool, very warm and I know the quality is there so it will last for years. Kind of on the expensive side but I will easily get 10+ years out of these things. For fit - I got a large. I am 6'0", 215 and wear a 44 long jacket and the large was absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical and Good Looking I recently purchased this sweater for my brother. He is hard on his clothes. This sweater is a tight knitted wool with a heft to it. It is good for cold weather and can be worn well over several layers (tee shirt,Henley,flannel shirt) without looking bulky. It has not been washed yet. I cannot attest to how it will hold up after washing as per instructions. It does the job it is meant to do, while holding its shape throughout the day. The navy looks good with almost anything. While it is not fitted, it is not baggy either. I purchased his usual size which is S Regular. He is 5'9'' and is slender.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Duck Hunter I just purchased this sweater and I am thrilled with the purchase. I ordered a size smaller than I normally do (as suggested by others). I am 5'11" 165 lbs. and I usually order a large. I ordered medium and it fit perfectly. I wore it to my hunting cabin this past weekend (Nov.). It was warm and gave me the layering I wanted for the early hunting season. I always get concerned about sweaters stretching out of shape, but this one looks like it will hold up for years. I really liked the suede on the inside of the collar and the texture was not too course or itchy for me. Well worth the money. I hope to wear it for years. We'll see.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I've had my eye on this sweater for literally a year (or more). Finally grabbed one during a recent sale in the "sable" color. It looks sharp with the darker piping and collar lining; the microsuede means no chafing/pilling from stubble and a comfortable feeling - the wool itself isn't scratchy either, with just a T-shirt underneath. Easily warm enough in 40ºF weather with just a thin leather coat to break the wind. The XL size (what I normally get) is quite roomy, yet doesn't look "too big." Overall length and sleeves are ample; consider a large. You can easily wear a collared shirt under it. So glad I finally got one; it likely won't be my last, either.
Date published: 2016-12-02