Adults' Bean Boot Socks is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 919.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update to "Superb Backpacking Sock" Since previously reviewing these socks, I have hiked many more miles in them. I am more impressed than ever. The fabric is so exceptional that no liner socks are needed to avoid blisters. I have worn liner socks for years while backpacking, but these socks eliminate the necessity for liner socks. With these socks I have a much better feel for the trail because they allow my feet (especially my toes) to move very freely inside my boot. The harshest test this summer was hiking up and down over 4,000 feet in 88 degree heat with a 30-pound pack. The descent of such a steep trail is hard on the toes and often produces blisters. Wearing these socks, I had none. Thank you, LL Bean!
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best socks for warm comfort-hiking For years I have used a different brand of Stretch Wool Socks for hiking, snow shoeing, or just keeping my feet warm and snug during colder weather months, The LL Bean boot socks are a high quality boot sock that provides extra padding at the front of the toes top and bottom as well as the heel of the sock. They are not too bulky, the socks stay up while active, and they wick away moisture when out on a hike. I had ordered one pair of these socks to give them a try. I will order several more pair next time around. These boot socks are what I come to expect from LL Bean. They're a little bit better than the competition and worth the selling price.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bruised my arch I previously reviewed these socks as a 5 but after wearing them at work with my bean boot Mocs I have to update. These socks have a design that caused me to get a bruise on my arch. I stand for 12 hours and as my feet perspired the spot on bottom where sock goes from green to the gray creased and as I walked I soon had a limp. I took of my Mocs to see what the issue was and saw how sock had creased I tried to smooth it out but as continued to walk the crease came back. I can’t recommend these due to that issue. I have other heavy weight socks that aren’t made in this fashion and have never caused me to get a sore arch
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boot Socks ever!! I bought my husband a pair of these socks at least 12 years ago. He wore them a great deal on jobs he was on in the wilderness doing construction of roads etc. He loved them. A few years back he was seriously injured on the job with the result of having problems with circulation in both legs. He began to wear that one pair of socks more and more til they finally began to wear out. That is why I just ordered two more and will probably do so again. They are top quality and keep his feet warm when other socks are not able to do so. Thank you LL Bean for your high quality materials and commitment to excellence.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite socks This is to be a Christmas gift (ha, a stocking-stuffer!) for my husband, so I can't really review them yet, but ... he has four other pairs of this "type" sock from LLBean and they are always in the laundry. When they are clean, they are the first socks he picks out of his sock drawer. He wears lace-up farm boots all day six days a week and these socks are definitely his favorites. The others vary in age and have gone through lots of wear and laundering and still look good. If I can remember they are in a wash load, I prefer to lay them flat to air-dry, but they have gone through the dryer plenty of times with no evident harm.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing Off These are actually great socks. The only reason I gave them 3 stars is because the size is off. I wear an 8 1/2-9 shoe, & L.L.Beans size chart says to order a medium. I have a small foot & usually have a hard time getting socks that aren't too big, but I ordered the medium & they're way too small! The area where your heel is supposed to go is completely on the bottom of my foot. Since I've never had any problems with L.L.Beans sizes before, I thought, well, maybe they stretch. These are very well made & haven't stretched at all. I'm hoping that after washing, these will fit my girlfriends feet, & I'll buy a large.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & Comfortable I ordered a pair of these socks for my husband to try. He often works outside, but he has always purchased regular work socks from box stores. I saw these and thought he might benefit from more expensive, wool socks. He LOVES these socks. He said they are noticeably warmer than any other socks he's purchased in the past. Also, he is 6'4" and wears a size 15 shoe. I ordered the XL and they fit him with no problems. The winters get pretty cold, so I will be ordering more for him so he can wear them all winter. I've never paid $20 for a pair of socks before, but this was money very well spent. I am very happy with the quality, value, and, most importantly, my husband's warmth and positive feedback.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wool socks, warm but tight I purchased a pair of these socks for my son, who by the way is very slender, even his feet are. The mediums were too tight all over,so for another hefty price, we purchased the large. Same problem, overall too tight. He ended up keeping both pairs since he really needed them, but the biggest complaint is that after many wears, the socks remain far too tight, almost cutting off circulation. The warmth is great, but they leave HUGE indents in his skin. For the price, I would have hoped the socks were a better fit. This site was the only site that we found the item we needed and that we felt we could trust their merchandise.
Date published: 2014-12-10