Women's Pima Cotton Tee, Long-Sleeve Stand-Up Neck is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 598.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Please bring back the 3-inch-high stand-up collar! This top has a nice loose-fitting neck, appreciated by those of us who can't tolerate the usual snug neck of the typical turtleneck. HOWEVER, the height of the neck is now just 2 inches, not 3 inches like it used to be. Note to LL Bean: We want the higher-neck version of the pima stand-up collar top back. We don't want something that looks a lot like a mock turtleneck! The previous, higher-neck version of the stand-up neck top worked better under sweaters, and the additional height of its neck kept us warmer. Did cutting back on the fabric by an inch save enough money to justify changing the formula of a winner? Hope you're listening, LL Bean.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No longer a Stand-up Neck I have purchased Bean pima tees for as long as they've carried them. I love the feel and the durability of the fabric. However, this item (the stand-up tee) is no longer what it was. Originally, the neck did, in fact, stand up. For years now, it has been a poor version of a mock tee. If you look at the tee on the model, you can see that the neckline doesn't come close to standing up on the neck, nor does it cover as much as a normal mock tee would. I would very much like to order more of these, but, unfortunately, can't unless Bean goes back to a true stand-up design, as previously. Please bring it back ... I miss it!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great under sweaters! I have a number of the stand -up neck pima tees from other years which I have worn and enjoyed. Last winter was so mild I didn't wear them as much, but this cold winter I needed to add a few more colors to wear under sweaters. I ordered the True Blue and Pink Hyacinth, both colors accurately shown on line. Some of my older ones seem to be cut a tad larger in the arms, which I prefer, but maybe they have stretched from being worn. The material is the same silky cotton which feels good as an underlayer, the length is long enough to tuck into pants (or wear out) and the 2 inch stand-up neck is perfect for those of us who are more short-necked than others!
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a standup neck! I agree with the others that the quality of the standup neck pima shirt just isn't what it used to be back about 4 yrs or so. I have a ton of old standup neck pima shirts going back a long time. They all look and fit excellently. But the standup neck pima shirt that you have now just isn't the same. The material is much thinner and the fit is much smaller. The sleeves are much shorter. The stand up neck is short like a mock neck in height. It doesn't "stand up" - it just kinda flops. I have measured my old standup neck pima shirts and those standup necks were about 4 inches high. They looked dressy - not sloppy. Please bring back the old style of standup neck pima shirts - and get some new colors.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite long sleeve top Bought two of these last year and thought they were great for those of us sporting "older" necks. The stand up collar is very attractive for senior gals and much more comfortable than basic turtlenecks that can be rather choking. Have been checking online for these for months and was thrilled to find them show up again recently during a random search before I even saw them appear again in a Bean catalog. I immediately ordered 5 more of them. (They only come in 8 colors now and I do not DO pink but have the other 7.) Heartily recommend this top to all and suggest you order early before they all get bought up like last year. You will not be sorry.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft with nice lines This Pima Cotton Tee is wonderfully soft and a pleasure to wear. The stand-up neck is perfect for under a blazer when I want a turtleneck look without the bulk of a turtlemeck collar. I ordered a white and a red one in Misses XL. I am 5'5". The length is just at the hips. I received so many compliments when I wore it over slacks with a coordinating color neck scarf. It has a generous fit in the body without looking baggy. I plan to order the same item in Petite for those times when I would like to have a shorter length (e.g., under a blazer). And plan to order other colors...this will be a new staple in my wardrobe. Thanks, LLBean!!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stand-Up Neck Pima Cotton Long Sleeve Tee I have many of these tees in different colors going back many years. Wash, wear, hold up, wonderful soft fabric. But, I must agree with other reviewers that some features have changed over the last two or three years, and not for the better, in my opinion. The shirt used to be, overall, a bit looser fit. Now the neck is too tight and the upper sleeves are, too. I've worn the same size (XL) for years with consistent fit until recently. Please bring back the former fit. Also, would love to see this in a True Navy sometime. If none of these things are issues for you, it's a great shirt.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing issues I can honestly say my first one of these was purchased in the mid 90's and I think I wore it for about 15 years happily before it looked shabby. Over the years I've ordered more, and this past year I've decided I won't be ordering them any longer. My reasons are; the sizing is not consistent, the sleeve length is not consistent-with this year's being too short, and the body is now made wider and boxier. It's very frustrating to say the least! Overall I think LLBean is as good a company as it gets, and their customer service is tops. It's just too bad you can't count on ordering the same thing year after year and having it be at least the same fit as you'd expect.
Date published: 2011-07-31