Men's Warm-Up Jacket, Fleece Lined is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 3196.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Issues as Others I am glad I read the reviews on this jacket. I too have purchased this jacket in the past... I have 2. The first, about 20 years ago and still going, was by far the best of the 3 I now own. The 'large' size / tall fit perfectly. I then tried another and it too fit ok. This one, I decided to buy XL because of the reviews and I am glad I did....they were correct. I am the same size as 20 years ago, but the Large would not have fit good. Outside shell is also not as nice, not as soft... 'crinkly' sounding. Oh, and the inside pocket has become smaller and not deep like it used to be! Disappointed these are no longer made in USA too!
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Your mileage may vary... Overall, the jacket is a better than average value when you consider it comes with Thinsulate insulation and the outer shell is both wind and water resistant. The 10% discount was nice too. I purchased a size medium (I am 5'7", 175 lbs) and found the fit is true-to-size but cut fairly straight. If you plan to wear this with a heavy or bulky sweater you may find that you are squeezed for room. I ordered it in alpine gold but what I received was more of a orange/amber with peach hues - which believe me, looks nothing like what is shown in the catalog or on the LL Bean web site. I returned it and requested the same jacket only this time in a burgundy color.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from short-use item for those unable to retain clothing Truly, this is terrible. I'm old enough to remember ordering from Bean's b&w paper catalog with line drawings. If this jacket is what now passes for Bean quality, perhaps it's time for me to kick the rusty bucket and join the ranks of good old Leon Leonwood himself. The shell looks, sounds, and feels cheap and likely to rip at first abrasion. The fleece collar looks guaranteed to pill quickly and no longer Malden Mills (or comparable quality) fabric. The cuffs are flimsy and oddly constructed. If these were available in bulk to donate to winter shelters whose clients discard clothing, ten bucks a piece would be fair for the quality and presumed duration of use.
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Foul Weather Jacket This is the second such jacket I've owned, having 'outgrown' the first one. I bought another one because I value this jacket so much. This is my first choice in the closet when the cold, wet weather arrives in the late fall, and it gets frequent use throughout the winter and early spring. The nylon shell does exactly what you expect it to do: shed water, slush and snow, while breaking the chilling effects of cold winds. The plush fleece lining provides just enough insulative warmth to keep me comfortable while shoveling snow in the coldest winter weather. There really isn't a down side to this jacket, in my opinion.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Weekend Jacket! I purchased this jacket in size Large because the same jacket I've had for 39 years (and still looks like new) fits snuggly, so I wanted a little more room. This new jacket is a perfect size for me. I normally buy size Medium in everything, but this jacket seems to run slightly smaller. This is my warmest jacket for winter here in southern NM, where the temp is usually in the 20's-30's, and sometimes in the teens. Highly recommend this jacket to everyone. If this new jacket holds up as long as the old one has, I'll be thrilled. The only issue with my old jacket was the zipper started acting up.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! They made a similar jacket to this in the women's a while back but it's no longer available, so I ordered this jacket in the regular small, since obviously men's sizes run big. It fits perfectly (I am 5'2" and about 140 lbs), aside from the fact that the sleeves are a bit long, but not a huge issue for me. It's very comfortable and warm, and I like the ribbed cuffs and bottom. Got the black which is my favorite color, and will be my go-to jacket in the winter. I love this so much, that I will be getting another color in this jacket. This is a great value for the price, and its really well made. Thanks for another fabulous product LLBean!
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around, durable, high quality jacket I received my LL Bean warm up jacket as a christmas gift. I. Like the zipper pockets and the light weight design with the Thinsulate keeps me warm through fall, winter and spring. I like the jacket so much I have been wearing it every year since I received it for christmas back in 1996. The thing that amazes me is that after fifteen years, the coat still looks new, all the stitching has held up and the material doesnt look more than a few weeks old! I could go on and on about this thing! My girlfriend buys me a new jacket every year but I still go back to the Bean! I recommend the black one which looks sharp during any occasion.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why Does it Get Smaller? I have had an XL Warm-Up jacket for 20 years. It wears like iron but it's getting a little worn so I wanted a new one. I ordered an XL like before. Now I haven't gotten any larger in 20 years and my Warm-Up jacket has not gotten any smaller. The old one fits great. But this new jacket is very snug, uncomfortably so. L.L.Bean, please go back to using the original patterns and forget about trying to be fashionably trim with your clothes. I'm sending this back and will look elsewhere for a comfortable jacket. Please put back the extra inch of fabric that makes clothing comfortable.
Date published: 2016-10-13