Men's Bean Boots, 8" is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 358.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still great quality from L.L. Bean Guess I'll be showing my age here but the quality of the Bean boots I received today is as good, if not better than the boots I ordered back in the 70's, 80's and 90's. L.L. Bean never lets me down. The size recommendations are accurate. Order a size down and you won't be disappointed. A little trick that I've learned over the years is to insert inexpensive foam insoles under the insoles that come with your Bean boots when wearing thin socks in the fall and spring. Remove the extra insoles in the winter when wearing heavy socks. It makes the fit of the boot feel consistent year round....at least it does for me. Enjoy your Bean boots!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first LL Bean Boots At age 55, I bought my first pair of LL Bean boots. The salesman was one of the best I have ever dealt with. There were so many options, I was unsure which boots I should buy. He asked me how I planned to use the boots and then made a recommendation, based on his own use of Bean boots over 28 years. He recommended I buy the basic boots and not one of the more expensive boots. Explaining why the basic boot was the better choice for me. He also took the time to explain how to care for my boots, to maximize their life. This was at the Kenwood store and I am sorry I did not get his name. Thank you for hiring someone who has a passion for your products.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and good quality. Difficult fit. I love these boots. They're a great accent to just about anything you can wear, super functional, and as comfortable as you could ever want. I have zero complaints; although the fit is somewhat difficult to nail. I typically wear a 10.5, and don't have to worry about width (although I usually cannot fit Nike running shoes very well). I tried a 9, and it was way too long, the 8 fit in length, but was tight about my heel. The wide model fit perfectly with regular and wool socks. I think the most annoying thing was, since the store was sold out of just about every size variance, I had to order each to see if it would fit. So it took about a month to get one that fit.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sad to say... This is the first time in over 40 years of buying LL Bean products and these boots, that I am supremely let down. The other pairs I have used were always perfectly sized. These are almost flopping on me. Even with heavy socks and additional liners, these are too big and really try to rip up my heals. I tried the next size down and they are way too small with heavy socks. The older pairs I have had could be used both summer and winter and were just right. I'm not even sure if I can get any use out of these at this point. Somewhere, the sizing and manufacture of the rubber base has gone very wrong.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caution Wet Feet After waiting two and half months for my boots to arrive I was pumped and ready to hit the trails. I'm writing this review now just weeks later to tell you to keep looking because they do not live up to the hype. The boots are ok for walking around a muddy backyard but I've found they do not hold up well to water. Whether you are walking in snow, crossing a small stream or even stepping in a puddle water will seep in through the bottom seems of the tongue. I found the boots very comfortable and I do enjoy wearing them on dry days. But if you are looking for waterproof its best to avoid because water does seep in.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bean Boats First off, I am 69 years of age and been hunting Maine for 50 plus years and have worn Bean Boots on most of those hunts, a great product, but will give a few comments about the boots, when the temps drop below zero, you will feel the cold, if your not on the move, so sitting in a tree or ice fishing, go with the Bean Pac boots. also if the soles start to wear it can be a little slippery, if worn in the woods, not around town, the soles will last for a long time. they do keep you feet dry and are quite, moving around in the woods. I just returned a pair, the bottoms separated from the bottoms and had no trouble getting a replacement pair, I will most likely be to old to hunt when these wear out, so i guess you can say they will last a life time
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what they used to be I normally do not write reviews, but I've been a LL Bean customer for over 30 years and decided now is a good time. I received my Bean Boots in January of 2016 and have been less than satisfied with my purchase. I owned a pair in the early 90's and there is no comparison. The soles of the newer boots show considerably more wear than they should for the age and usage of the boots and the leather tops are cut uneven and not symmetrical. This is not the quality I had expected nor used to. I even contacted the company, and their response was for me to send them back and pay to have them resoled. My how the times have changed.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LL scored on this one I've been wearing Bean Boots for outdoor activities, especially work, for many years and am always impressed with how the simple melding of rubber boots and leather boots created one that has the advantages of both: waterproof and breathable. Leather boots are never as waterproof, and all-rubber boots get damp and clammy inside; and I've never found high tech substitutes satisfactory. They are comfortable and last and last, despite my abuse of them. (And the price goes up and up!) I just bought a new pair in anticipation of the sole of my 12-year-old ones finally biting the dust (or leaking the water), but so far I haven't been able to kill them, even with pick and shovel work.
Date published: 2016-11-16