Permabaffle Box Goose Down Comforter, Warmer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Clumps and goes flat after one season of use I’ve had this for barely three years now and started to notice the dramatic shift in fill after one season of use. But now it is complete flat and empty feeling in multiple areas and other areas have large deposits of full that no matter how much I shake it or put it in the drier it doesn’t help. I treated myself when I purchased this and for what I paid I’m sadly disappointed it provides little warmth and hasn’t held up at all. I’ve been an LLBean customer my whole life and this is not the level of quality I have come to know. Would definitely not recommend. Wish I could exchange it, but the returns policy isn’t what it used to be either.
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! We live in Wisconsin where it's regularly below zero in Winter. This comforter is so warm and comfortable! I read reviews before I ordered and some people had mentioned it was crunchy sounding. I will say it had a "new" feel for a week or so. But, I also purchased the comforter cover and the whole thing together is like sleeping in clouds. It fluffed up just like it was supposed to. I have now purchased 3 more for each of our kids for Christmas. On our second winter and it's still as wonderful. The other day I got up for work and thought wow, it's a little cold in the house. During the night we had lost heat and I never noticed.
Date published: 2019-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over-delivers on warmth! I had a hard time rating this item because I returned it, but only because it was TOO warm! It's big and fluffy and feels like extremely high quality, but it's honestly just too warm for us, anytime of year. We live in the northeast (splitting our time between Boston and Vermont) and we had to turn our heat completely off at night in Boston in order to use it, and in Vermont we used it one night when the power was out (read: 2 feet of snow outside and absolutely no heat) and it was STILL too warm! Returned for the "warm" version, as we're looking for something we can use for year-round use.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality, Extremely Warm Have had the comforter for over a year. Overall great quality, no issues with color, size, quality of fabric, sound of fabric, loft, leaking of feathers, shifting of feathers, etc. The comforter does make a slight crinkly sound but nothing I consider loud or unusual. Unfortunately it is too warm for us. We found we can only use it from about late Oct - April in NJ. We keep our house at 58 degrees at night and had to lose the extra blanket we used with our previous comforter to stay warm. We are in a new, less drafty house now, still set at 58. I run cold and I'm sweating under it at night even when it's single digits outside. I can't give the product a bad review for doing its job. If you need a super warm comforter this is for you
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shifting Down I purchased this comforter to replace another because the "other" had down that's always shifting towards the center. I hoped this new comforter would have stitching that would preclude shifting down. This design includes a 10 inch boarder on all 4 sides. The down in these areas is totally free to move. You can - an do - end up with down-filled corners and empty side panels. So far - 2 weeks and counting - the down in the center seems to be staying where it belongs.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for New England winter! I love this comforter/duvet insert. I needed a new one to replace my 20 year old one (not from LL Bean), and I spent a ridiculous amount of time looking at a lot of different brands. This one was the most expensive, but I really wanted the Permabaffle design, so I crossed my fingers and bought it. Good call, me. It fills out my duvet cover perfectly. Some companies only sell a Full/Queen comforter instead of separate sizes, and those don't work well with a Queen duvet cover. I'm in New England, so already using it. I've had it for 3-4 weeks now. No loose feathers, no flatness - just warm, weightless, fluffy perfection. I never thought I'd be so excited about bedding, but here we are. I have every expectation that I'll get 20 years or more out of it.
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy without weight! I’ve wanted a down duvet for so long! Last fall they were sold out of this one, so when I saw it was available in spring I decided to order it. Very high-quality. The ties and buttonholes are perfect. The label mystified me and I called customer service about it. The label says 75% down, but it does not mention the other 25%, Customer service told me: 75% is goose down clusters and 25% is goose down. That should be on the label. Otherwise I am very happy with it and with the duvet cover, pillowcases, and shams that I ordered from L.L. Bean as well. I it is almost too warm to use in Oregon now but I will use it as long as I can! I got the warmer version. It is like sleeping in an expensive hotel.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from King works on Queen Bed These are wonderful--light and warm at the same time. Just ordered a King size for our Queen bed. We did this because, with the Queen comforter, one of us was always getting the short end of the stick when the other turned over--no blanket coverage! The King size solves that problem for us and it is also longer and there are no more complaints about cold feet. Something to consider. Works for us.
Date published: 2018-03-03