Men's Waterproof Ultralight Down Jacket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I just received the ultra light down jacket which is a new product this year. I was concerned about the fit because I’m 6ft-1 and I have very long arms (35 in.) . I ordered the XL- regular and the fit was perfect! The arm length was ample, plenty long, which I like. I think a tall size may have been too long. It’s a light and warm jacket. I haven’t been in the rain with it yet, but I’m sure water would repel right off of it. I’m very pleased with the fit in the body as well. I have broad shoulders and it’s very comfortable.
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and quality construction I’m always nervous buying clothing online because fit is usually all over the place. This fit perfectly. At 6’ 2” and 200 pounds I am a reasonably slender guy, plus I have a longer torso than the average 6’ 2” guy also. I also generally wear 35” length in the arms. This fit like a loose glove :). Just enough room to maneuver without being baggy and long enough to reach mid hand and reaching upper thigh. The quality of this jacket is great with nice, strong stitching and a high quality, smooth zipper. It’s warm but not bulky. Intended for trips to the northern US and southern Canada.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent jacket overall The jacket fits well and looks good overall, and I really like it. It met most of my criteria: Look good, so I'd actually wear it; Waterproof/windproof to keep me warm walking to work in winter from my parking lot a couple blocks away; and lightly colored, so I can be more easily seen walking back to the car at night. I bought the tan version. It might be slightly too tight at the armpits, but the next size up was complete overkill and did not look good on me (criteria 1). This might contribute to my other complaint, that it seemed to lose a lot of feathers. I kind of wish the lining were thicker to stop this. Tumbling it in the dryer at seems to have helped stop the feather loss. I didn't realize it was natural down when I bought it.
Date published: 2021-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Jacket I have been looking for a really warm jacket for bitter cold New England winter days. I did a lot of research and was going to get a parka but didn’t want the bulk. I only wore it once so far but wore it with just a tshirt in 20 degree snowy weather and never felt the slightest chill. Really warm and dry. Very happy with purchase. I usually wear a medium in jackets but the small fit perfect and has room for a warmer layer such as a sweatshirt or base layer. Drops just below my waste which is nice and helps keep in the warm. Overall really warm, light weight, dry, and sharp looking. High recommend . Great value and very reasonable price for what you are getting.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lot To Like! It was with regret that I returned this jacket the day following delivery. This decision, however, does not detract from the jacket's merits. It offers warmth without weight--something I increasingly appreciate--and has a streamlined appearance. There's not a lot of room for layering due to the slightly fitted styling, but that helps the jacket hug the body and enhance warmth. Be aware that the zipper is a bit stiff to operate. The deal breaker for me was the terracotta color. It had too much of an orange tone, one I associate with hunting. I wish the jacket had come in a nice red or some version thereof. Then I would have kept it. But if the other two colors available appeal to you I would recommend this jacket.
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Activity Focused Winter Jacket What caught my eye about this jacket is how good looking it is. It is sharp and technical. The jacket drops below my hips and provides much added warmth. It does not drop so low that it impedes any movement. The pit zips are great to have for when I really get moving. The pockets are plentiful. The side pockets are fleece lined. I would consider this jackets warmth one notch below a full on parka. If you will be sitting outside, or not moving, you will need a base layer. But when moving, you can be wearing just a tshirt. I knocked it down 1 star because every time I take it off, there is a down feather or 2 on my shirt. They end up all over my house. I am not sure what's normal here, but it seems excessive. You'd think this would have been addressed during design?
Date published: 2021-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Coat I bought this for my husband in Black. It fits him perfectly and is designed well. There are draw strings if you want a more snug fit and velcro around the wrist if a tighter fit is needed. The coat comes just below his bottom and makes for a great wind breaker effect. Four pockets are nice. This is just what he needs for the cold and windy winters we get in Texas.
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Purchase but Don't Leak Feathers I've been wearing this product since the first week of January 2021. I've been able to determine its value and quality of product. I purchased this a my "heavy" winter coat. I've been waiting for the cold wet weather to allow me to judge whether it would meet my expectations. With temperatures in the 20's with sleet & snow, I'm very satisfied with its warmth and ability to keep me dry. The problem I have is that it "leaks" the feathers. LL Bean's gotta figure out a better way to keep the warming feathers inside the constructed coat. I've got another lighter weight mid-winter coat that leaks feathers, also. The other coat isn't but a couple of years old. Is this the way all feather coats are made or does LL Bean have a Quality Control issue? I'd like to know. Without the feathers, it will lose its warmth over time. I do like the exterior material. It's more water resistant and no where as likely to catch on something and "pick" the threads from the coat. Love all the pockets. I'm of short stature so I really like the length as it covers more of me below the waist. When driving, it reaching into pockets, this could be a problem but it's minimal for the additional length benefit. My taller friends out there may like the extra length since I'm thinking many of the coats they purchase are too short. It'll be too warm once temperatures reach a consistent high of over 55. The main reason I gave 4 stars vs the 5 stars is that I don't appreciate the feathers leaking. Overall, it's a fine coat to have in my closet.
Date published: 2021-02-20