Men's Katahdin Iron Works® Hooded Sweatshirt, Fleece-Lined is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite winter hoodie lost a star this year.. ...I LOVE this jacket and have bought about 10 of these in my lifetime. It's soft, warm enough in sub-zero weather, and wears well, even with daily use. This year, they decided to drop the 2nd inside pocket (a pocket within the main hoodie pockets) and it now feels so imbalanced and your left hand is colder than your right hand on cold days. Not sure if this was by functional design or COVID budget cuts, but if you are in LLBean's design department, only one inside hand pocket is a crime against humanity on this jacket. Please bring back the classic in next year's model, otherwise, this might be my last Katahdin IW purchase (sigh).
Date published: 2021-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not what it used to be i have been buying my husband 2 of these sweatshirts every year since they came out with them. the quality was superb; warmth was superb......but last year, the quality wavered. this year, they are just awful. they are now THIN, the fleece is thin, the outside sweatshirt material is thin. i can have a sweatshirt from 3 years ago in one hand, and the new one i just got and the weight of the new one is half of the older one. i am so sad that these have been compromised in quality because you had a great product, but now you just have a lined sweatshirt...like everyone else......time to look elsewhere.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Excessing logo name on clothing products This fleece hooded sweatshirt has served me well for over ten years. However, I will not purchase the revised fleece lined product for two reasons: (1) New version has reduced inner surface area that has a fleece lining, which will reduce the sweatshirt's ability to provide warmth. (2) New version has not one but two vendor-names sown on the clothing. It is not wise for vendor to get over-zealous in conspicuously sewing their name-brand on the clothing products. It is my guess that the vendor's de-personalizing of clothing products, by applying name-brand on the outside of clothing, will result in loss of product-sales. L.L. Bean needs to re-think their production strategy.
Date published: 2020-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm picky about hoodies and I love it. This is a quality hoodie. It's comfortable, warm, and fits great. I hate fitted hoodies that have tight cuffs and clutch my waist and wrists. That's not a problem with this one. I normally find I have to wear XXL-size items, so this one perhaps fits a little large since the XL fits me perfectly. I'm also tall and the tall size variant is spot-on. The only caveat I can think to provide is that it is somewhat heavy. I personally find heavier garments more comfortable, so it's great for me. I also like to keep my head warm with a cap, and the hood is substantial enough to comfortably cover a light wool cap to keep my neck warm in windy weather. The smooth fabric lining the sleeves is terrific for getting it on and off easily.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decided not to re-purchase My husband is literally a walking LLBean catalog! He is so committed to the brand, until LLBean started adding their logo on EVERYTHING! He has this sweatshirt in blue for about 3 years, and he loves it. He wears it all the time to work outside in the yard and walk our dog. It is his go to jacket for running errands all winter. He wanted a new one in black, but when I showed him the logo tag prominently displayed on the front he said forget it. Another reviewer said the same, I am echoing their request to please remove the logo tag and I will purchase two! A replacement for my husband’s original one and one in black. I would have given a four star rating, if the logo wasn’t so prominent.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please remove the logo!!! My family (brother-in-law, nephew, husband, sister, niece, brother) we all own and love this jacket. We were all in need of new jackets as we loved and wore the ones we had to rags. Unfortunately, we hate being human billboards for manufacturers more than we love the jacket. We would rather patch up our ragged jackets than walk around with the logo. Its not that we don't understand LL Bean's desire to advertise but, we just prefer the very clean look of the jacket without the logo. I see from some of the other reviews that my family is not alone in their decision to forgo purchasing the jacket because of the logo. It is very sad. LL Bean, Please remove the logo or place it as a tag along the seam line that can be removed if desired.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from waited 2 years for a navy one These hoodies are really impressive. As an avid outdoorsman I appreciate quality outdoor garmets and these are warm, triple stitched at all the stress points , and fit great with a little extra room in the shoulders so if your active or working(chopping wood etc) you have room to raise your arms up high without your cuffs riding up. Tried to get a navy one 2 years in a row and finally got it. Size and color sold out by the time I got my catalog. Speaks volumns for the product. Love the gray one I got a couple years ago but the navy one was worth the wait. Thanks again to all Bean.,
Date published: 2021-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sweatshirt I am a female and bought the regulat extra large in blue and black last winter. These are heavy, soft and rugged. They don’t shrink when they are washed. The ribbed cuffs keep the wind out. I’m not a big fan of hoods but this one fits good. Not an inexpensive purchase but worth every penny. I am ordering another one tonight for my friend’s birthday.
Date published: 2020-09-06