Men's Wicked Good Flannel Shirt, Slightly Fitted, Houndstooth is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 232.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit and Fabric I have a number of the slightly fitted Scotch Plaid Flannels and decided to try this one because the reviews were so positive. I have to say that I agree with the reviews - this is a great, or wicked good, flannel. I appreciate the slightly fitted pattern to remove the bulk around the waist (mine is 31 inches) but still leave room in the chest (mine is 42 inches) and the sleeve length is perfect (mine is 34 inches). The fabric is about the finest flannel I've come across and hope that it launders and wears as advertised by LL Bean. I think I better order more before the holiday season taps them out. This shirt is too good to not have multiple copies of.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very comfortable. Didn't last. I loved this shirt. The fit was great and the fabric was very comfortable and just the right weight for my needs. But it didn't last. After about a year, the buttons started popping off; I've had to re-attach about half of them. And then the other day, my son stopped by while I was wearing this shirt and said "What's with the big hole in your shirt?" Unbeknownst to me, a big T-shaped hole had worn through the tail. One of the reasons I was willing to spend $64 (now $70!) is that I thought it would last many years, but it didn't even last two.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sleeve length out of proportion I have purchased this wicked flannel shirt, traditional fit in red and blue; shirt fits perfectly! material is soft and warm. I wanted to buy the green shirt but it was sold out in the traditional fit so I ordered the slightly fitted version in green, which is new. The body of the shirt fits perfectly however the sleeve length is a whole cuff length longer than my other two shirts. I returned the shirt and ordered a second one thinking it must be manufactured incorrectly. I received the second one today and it is the same way. Sleeve is way too long. The size chart says the sleeve length should be 33-34 for a medium and this sleeve length is at least a 35-36. Doesn't seem proportional to the fit of the chest and waist. very disappointed!
Date published: 2020-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied Customer I bought this shirt in Rustic Red, size L. I am 6'1", 225 lbs, and my usual shirt size is 16 (or 16.5), 34/35. I love the shirt, and the first day I wore it I got 3 compliments. I recommend this shirt if you would like a comfortable and stylish flannel. The only reason I give it 4 stars and not 5 is because even though it is the slightly fitted trim, there is still a little room around my midsection. If I wear it tucked in it creates a little bagginess in the midsection. In sum, even the slightly fitted runs big. I suggest, if you're like me and you go between sizes (L/XL), go for the smaller size. Overall I am happy with this purchase and may buy another to give as a gift!
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flannel Made I now own 5 of these Wicked Good Flannels and just ordered another. Some are well over 10 years old. These shirts have become my fall/winter uniform to the extent that I have given away all the other brand flannels I owned. Why would I own a flannel that wrinkles or is not near as soft. WGFs truly do not wrinkle and look perfect out of the dryer. They are still incredibly soft with no piling ever. Even my wife loves them because they are so easy to care for. My only wish is that LL Bean would go back to making this shirt in plaid like they did so many years ago. Then I might buy more.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good to excellent fabric I purchased one of these shirts several years ago and over the years I have been astounded by how well the fabric holds up. I do observe a difference between that earlier shirt and those purchased this year. I own five. The quality of the material is not totally consistent between shirts even those recently purchased. It's all good but my guess is that it comes from different sources, For instance, the gray houndstooth is finer and less fuzzy than my two tartans. My photo would not load, darn but I'm not crazy! It's a bit disappointing because the G houndstooth is superb material. Still a good, formal-looking shirt straight from the dryer.
Date published: 2021-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastically soft flannel shirt Although it took several tries to get the right size, my husband is very happy with the final result. I first ordered these shirts in size Large, regular cut. They were very billowy in the body but the sleeve length and overall length was good. We exchanged them for Slightly Fitted Large which was the perfect fit. I would say that the regular fit is overly large - not a classic shirt fit. I have noticed that LL Bean men's shirts etc have gotten quite large in the past few years. I ordered a Large Tall for my son a couple of years ago and, even though he is 6'4", he was swamped in it!
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice shirt....but I bought this shirt just a few weeks ago. Right away, I loved the look and feel. On the THIRD time wearing the shirt two front buttons fell off within minutes of each other. This type of thing is almost unheard of these days. Quality is a huge issue. Before this happened I was very close to ordering another. I reached out to customer service and all I got was the obilgatory, "if you wish to send it back we can refund you". The point is, I liked this shirt and the option given me is to go through the time and effort to send it back? At least compensate me to get the buttons sewed back on. Who the heck knows how to sew a button these days? Not this guy.
Date published: 2019-11-08