L.L.Bean Original Book Pack® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great backpack, not so great color options. first off, i love this bag. i had one as a kid in the 80s and now that i have to send a little one to school, what better bag to equip them with? the backpack is quality. what else would you expect from llbean? plenty of room for books, binders, notebooks; as well as room for tiny treasures in the front pocket. it was a struggle to pick a color though. why can’t there just be a green bag? or a black bag? the addition of the contrast front pocket cheapens the look of the bag. for the price, you won’t find a better bag out there. but for the price, you are very limited to the colors to choose from. good luck!
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first back pack This backpack is a wonderful, sturdy and resilient little pack meant to be large enough to store all your little scholars belongings without being too large that it overwhelms a small child. My four year old loves his, especially with having his name on it. I would however, recommend not getting the yellow one like we have. If I could trade it in for a different color I would, the yellow is nice brilliant and noticeable statement but is somewhat see through which I don't particularly love. I really wanted the dark green one which was on back order so we settled for the yellow. Next upgrade will not be yellow, but it will be an original LL Bean!
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love LL Bean backpacks but need better colors We just love our LL Bean backpacks! They are sturdy and durable and my two boys have been using them for 2 years and they still look great. Thanks for adding water bottle holder on side that is so nice. I just wish LLBean would make more solid colors in the original size. The colors are ugly and we already have siblings with a red and blue. There is no pink or purple for girls and the amber color is ugly along with weird color pockets on the green. Why can’t LL Bean make a regular orange like the junior backpack comes in or just Kelly green or lime green. LL Bean needs more boy solid colors that are fun! Who wants muted grown up colors for elementary kids. I just wish LL Bean would make better colors as I want my kids to have different color backpacks.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LONG LASTING My son has used this backpack for 6 years… kindergarten through 5th grade. And it’s still in EXCELLENT condition!! No broken zippers, no tears, etc. He will move on to middle school next year and we will be buying the LL bean Deluxe backpack because he needs more space, but he could easily keep using this one. All you soon-to-be kindergarten mommas take note… Highly recommend!
Date published: 2021-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As I remembered My seven year-old nephew had complaints over the fall about his backpack being really uncomfortable, especially the straps. I remembered L.L. Bean packs being great quality when I had one back in college, so I decided to try this one. My nephew was extremely pleased when he opened his Christmas gift. The two tones of teal and green were very fun in my opinion, and he picked up on that right away. After adjusting the straps and filling it with some of his other gifts, he had this pack on all the time for the rest of his holiday vacation.
Date published: 2020-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More classic colors!! I have this backpack from my youth (20 years ago!) and it’s still in good shape! I have 1 for each of my kids now and am looking for a new color. I wish LL Bean would stick to the classic colors and offer more options! What about the classic hunter green, eggplant purple, regular black! I would keep buying if the colors were better!
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring Back the Black Great quality product. Bring back the original book pack in ALL black. Black is so cool and so basic. Lots of adults would buy it. We can’t buy the kiddie stuff, but the rest of the pack is excellent, and looks do matter. Please consider your whole consumer market.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sad colors My two daughters had the junior original in Pink and were excited to size up to the standard original size. Well the girls are not having those colors and I'm with them. Why is the purple a horrid rotten egg plant? Really? And I don't understand why there is pink in the Junior offerings but not in the standard size. Another reviewer mentioned some more boy colors, well how about some nice girl colors. Neon Pink and Mint Green perhaps? A Normal Purple? Lastly, why do all the colors have a putrid tone to them? I get it you want to be off beat and hip and I get it but you can take a thing to far. I always had a LLBEAN bag growing up and I was looking forward to continuing the tradition with my girls, but unfortunately, it's of to PBK for me.
Date published: 2019-07-26