Adults' L.L.Bean Continental Rucksack is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Iconic Anymore Quality Changed This is not the legendary Iconic rucksack anymore, the material is thiner and I don't think it will last for long time, don't go by the great YouTube review videos this is NOT the same rucksack / backpack anymore. You won't be able to fit your canteen or Yeti Rambler on the side pockets, you can barely be able to fit a Gatorade 20oz. or a 17oz water bottle, a small wood stove won't fit in the front pocket anymore, plus they jacked up the price +$30 Bucks like all outdoor companies in 2020. If you are looking for a laptop or school book bag this might be an option, but not for the outdoors anymore. (Written on Winter 2020)
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Major change I bought one and absolutely loved it. Best rucksack I have owned. Great quality, nice sized side pockets, useable front pocket. Comfortable to wear on long hikes. Use it all the time! Then I bought another to have as a back up, daily use bag for work. That’s when everything went bad. The material of the bag changed, cheaper quality. The side pockets don’t fit my hydro flask anymore. The front pocket is much smaller, the main bag in smaller. The bag isn’t nearly as comfortable. LL Bean, why did you decide to go cheap when you had a winning product!? Go back to the original maker of the bag and you will have a great product again!
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Who designed this? I wanted a pack that had pockets for water bottles on the sides so I could easily pull them out without having to get into the main compartment of the pack. This looked old-school in design and materials, which appealed to me. What a disappointment! These pockets barely fit a cycling water bottle in their girth and will not close over the top of a tall bottle. I wanted to put 1-liter bottles in there, which is not possible. The best I can hope for is a 20-oz cycling water bottle. The other pockets are designed so the top does not actually fold up out of the way completely, making it difficult to put things in and pull them out. Returned immediately.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality - Pockets too small I bought this rucksack because my previous backpack that I used for work/hiking started to rip in various places. I love everything about it except the side pockets. They are ridiculously small - I can’t fit my relatively skinny travel mug in them and definitely not my nalgene. I wish the pockets weren’t sewn so far over and the “lid” opened up more. Instead of a water bottle, I filled the side pockets with my K-cups for when I’m in the office. I do love the look and the versatile function of the bag. It’s small enough that it wouldn’t look out of place at work but gets the job done on the trails. If the pockets were larger I would give 5 stars.
Date published: 2021-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed What was once a great Bushcraft pack is now a waist of money. I wanted this for day hiking and a little Bushcraft. A Nalgene bottle barely fits in the side pockets when the pack is empty. Lot’s of changes and not good if you want this pack for Bushcraft or hiking. I go to the woods to enjoy being away from all this Technology we have now days, not to bring a laptop in the new padded sleeve. If you think your going to keep your cook pot or Svea 123 in these side pockets just buy a different pack. They have Domesticated this pack to the point of being useless. I now use it for travel, at least I can get a pair of socks in the pockets.
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for hassle-free travel! I purchased this bag for a two-week backpacking trip across Europe, and it was the only bag I brought with me. I usually prefer to pack minimally for my adventures, but I was able to fit 8-10 outfits, all of my toiletries, snacks, and electronics without issue. This bag has many hidden pockets (great for storing valuables and passports), and the simple/secure buckles made unpacking at security checkpoints very quick. It fits within the TSA guidelines for a carry-on bag, no suitcase needed! This backpack is extremely comfortable and sturdy, and the extra straps made walking long distances so much more bearable. This bag was definitely worth the money! 10/10
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continental Rucksack I purchased a Continental Rucksack many years ago when LL Bean first started selling them. I loved the bag. Many years have passed and my Rucksack has gone to the great rucksack heaven. I recently decided to purchase another Continental Rucksack, maybe nostalgia, who knows. The new bag has been upgraded in numerous ways. I am looking forward to getting many years of use from this bag. The only negative I have found is, in my opinion, the outside pockets should be a little larger to accommodate a one quart water bottle and a cup/pot nested together. The pocket will tightly hold the water bottle alone, but other than that the bag is well built and easy to carry.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Man, has it changed..... This is the second of these packs that I have bought. The first one was a beast, able to carry substantial loads comfortably. I loved the old style pack. The new pack is a lot different from the old one. You could fit a GI style canteen in the side pockets of the old one, not this one. The lids to the three outside pockets are sewn to the top edges of the pockets limiting the opening to the pockets. Not really a fan of the new pack yet, but I am sure it will serve me well. Love the color and the fact they put a pocket on the inside of the lid that is accessible from the outside. That is the best change they made to the pack.
Date published: 2021-03-19