Men's Apex Waterfowl Bootfoot Waders with Super Seam Technology is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 12.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to size Ordered these after returning the previous model. The shoulder straps kept tearing at the stitches. I like the upgrades on the shoulder straps. The solid one piece webbing won't tear like the previous design. I originally ordered the XL 12, but they were too small. Exchanged for XXL 12 and I don't see any noticeable difference in fit. Could have used some extra room in the torso length too. The crotch is riding high even when standing. Sitting might be a challenge. Will look elsewhere when these start to fail. If it's anything like my previous pairs, I give it two years.
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Straps too short for taller guys I'm not a sasquatch, just 6'2 and 220lbs. The straps are several inches too short. Like another reviewer said, even with the straps maxed out it pulls on the crotch. It's not uncomfortable, but eventually the crotch seam will burst from sitting down. The boot seam was also haphazardly put together as you can see the glue tape pulling off the wader fabric already. Tried the L and XL without much difference. Giving 2 stars, because customer service is always top notch and the boots were impressively snug.
Date published: 2020-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Apex boot foot waders My normal shoe size ranges 12 - 13 and I ordered an XL which defaults to size 12 boot. Overall I was very pleased with quality and fit of waders except that boots were too small. I called and discussed with LLB and consultant advised that 13 boot is only available in XXL which would have bee too large in body. Therefore I returned for refund. Had size 13 boot been available in XL I would have exchanged.
Date published: 2019-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty close, but still work to be done I've had LL Bean breathable waders for 5+ years now. They discontinued the ones I've had, so this was the new option to replace those. First off, LLB customer service, ordering, shipping, etc are all top notch. It's a great brand with a longstanding tradition. That said... Pros: + breathable wader material feels the same as before, which is a good thing + new shotgun shell pockets are a welcome addition + camo colored boots are a nice touch in this version + ample chest pockets and zippered compartments + boots fit true to size for me + built in waist belt is genius and much appreciated, although ends up being a touch too high for me Cons: - upper portion sizing is not great; had to get large to go along with my 10 size boots; I'm not that tall and with straps fully extended it still pulls on my crotch; there is probably 6" extra room in the legs and the top is a tad too short - missing the dedicated cell phone chest pocket from last version - because legs are so long, the knee pads are actually near my shins - not sure how "generous" this fit is for heavy clothes; feels like it'll be tight with jacket on but TBD - I really miss the shoulder straps from previous version; they tried to improve but made way worse; the plastic pieces for changing length of straps is pretty bulky and sit exactly where my gun mount should be; this is going to be a serious issue for me when waterfowl hunting
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good waders So far so good. I ordered a large with size 10 boot. Boot size is true. The body will fit a much larger size man.
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, comfortable, warm! Took a chance when these were 20%, and after getting them yesterday and putting them to use for an early hunt this morning I am a true believer of breathable waders. Temps were in the 20's, and with a good baselayer, wool socks and sweatpants I stayed comfortably warm. I hunt from an aquapod (kayak), so I paddle in to my hunts and by the time I'm done setting up I'm usually sweaty in neoprenes which ends up making me damp and cold. These waders completely solved that problem. I would buy these again in a heartbeat. The boot fit is true to size - I wear size 11 (medium) shoe and the 11 fit great. At 6' I ordered the Large size, and still had some room at the crotch inseam, which is a plus because often times this is where waders will ride up if you're a taller guy. Had room to comfortably layer a sweatshirt, vest and softshell jacket under the waders. I didn't have the fit issues other reviewers had - elastic adjustments snug in the top of the waders around the chest which is great for keeping you warm and to get rid of/manage the little bit of bagginess that is inevitable with waders. Everyone is unique and it's hard to make a product that fits everyone perfect, but for me at 6' 175 these are darn near perfect. The new belt adjustment system is a fantastic design, simple and reliable. The new shoulder straps are narrow and run more center to the body which is great for getting a clean mount without hitting the strap buckles. 10/10 I would buy again. As someone that walks or paddles in to almost exclusively public land spots, I'm hoping these last a long time - only time will tell - but they are built solidly and seem to be crafted for the long haul. Comes with a repair kit that seems fairly simple to repair cuts and leaks.
Date published: 2019-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The fit is tight I had been looking for a replacement for my lightweight waders for waterfowling, and after researching many sites and brands, I decided to take a chance on these, and I used them on a three day upper prairies duck hunt. I am not thin, but I am not huge, and the upper body is quite snug. Even with the XL size, it is almost too tight. I have to slowly work the waders up my body to get them on. I also agree with other reviews that the shoulder straps are way too short. They barely fit me with a wader pull over jacket on underneath, and are as extended as far as they can go. They would be too tight for a taller person. The built in wader belt is a plus, and the boot size and comfort are right on. Expand the body some and lengthen the shoulder straps, and these waders would be 5 star perfect.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in River I needed waders for hunting ducks in Rio Grande - waste deep water with current. The Apex waders are terrific hiking to and from river up to half a mile through brush and the.river with with sandbars and channels.
Date published: 2020-11-26