Men's Ultralight 850 Hooded Down Sweater, Colorblock is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 9.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the same As a 25 yr. customer, It saddens me to say I can no longer shop with LLBean. I've tried the last 2 years and just keep returning items because of the poor quality. This jacket came with loose stitching and a funky zipper that sticks. The seams were coming apart. I can already tell that it will tear easily so no hikes in this coat. Oh well, maybe someone will have better luck. I will just keep wearing my jacket from 1998.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from loved it, until it ripped in 2 months I loved this jacket, using it to bike commute in the DC winters which vary from cold to not so cold. Then i noticed a tear in the fabric near behind the left pocket. I question the quality of the materials of the jacket because i've got many years of wear out of my previous winter jacket. Not so much out of this one. Disappointing.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, Warm, Stylish Similar LL Bean jackets are listed as wearable across a huge temp range (from 20 degrees down to minus -20F). I guess Beans got tired of a bunch of people complaining that they could not stand outside staring at the clouds in temps like -20F with no underlayer for an afternoon, just because Beans listed a low temp rating, and removed the rating from this listing. I've worn this jacket a few days now. Standing still with just a light t-shirt underneath, the jacket was fine for near-freezing temps. I stood around the Old Port window shopping at sub 30F and while you could feel the cool it never got into my body. If we were on the sun side of the street, I warm. In shadow, it was cool. Actively walking around down to 22F (-10 below freezing), with a wind and some sun I was comfortable. If you’re snowshoeing, running, or any outdoor exercise and a strong underlayer, this jacket can be wearable to well below freezing. I really like the two-tone approach. It sets it apart for all the solid color puffers out there. It fits slightly fitted. I can get a thicker base layer under. Be aware, this is not a thick puffer. You wont be standing around while your kids sled at the park deep into February in this jacket and be comfortable. But a long john top, tshirt, this jacket and sledding WITH yours kids, you'll look great and still be warm.
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fall travel warmth layer We're taking a Rhine cruise in late October, so I acquired this item to bring along as part of the layering one needs to both avoid excess weight AND be prepared for unseasonable Autumn briskness. The down sweater is, from my inspection, quite well fabricated (in Bangladesh) and LL Bean's quality control appears to be also quite good. There is an adjustable waist cord to prevent needless heat-loss, which works well, but I was mildly surprised to find that the attached hood lacks such a securing feature, relying instead on a non-adjustable elastic band that 'fits all', sewn around the edge of the hood. Such an improvement would be desirable, in my opinion. That said, I am quite happy with the LL Bean Ultra-light hooded down sweater. It will work perfectly with a parka-length cotton outer parka to retain warmth and add some degree of moisture control. Although I am tall and lean, there's room under this MED/TALL down sweater for an underlayer of some substance as a foundation (turtleneck or shirt). Delivery was actually two days ahead of schedule, so kudos to LL Bean for offering this very useful product to us peripatetic globe-hoppers (from one experienced 'Human Bean' to others)!
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect Great jacket. Nice style and fit. Wish the hood had a drawstring or elastic as it is useless against any wind
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome It keeps you nice and toasty when it’s cold outside but it’s so light weight that you can wear it in the car and you don’t feel all bulked up it’s perfect so I don’t have to keep dressing and undressing when I get out of my vehicle I’ll get back into my vehicle I just unzip it until I get to the next place I’ve been wearing these for a few years now and I would recommend them to anybody
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and light weight This is a great jacket. I find it warm to about 25 degree’s and a great option to a bulkier jacket. The only issue/ suggestion would be to add a draw string for the hood. When it’s windy the hood takes in a lot of cold air and requires the person to also wear a winter hat.
Date published: 2020-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent down sweater Very warm for it’s loft. Wore this x-c skiing in 17*F weather and nothing over it. Very toasty. Normally I wear a large but it was too tight around the armpits so I got an XL. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2021-03-24