Men's Ultralight 850 Down Sweater is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice and warm but too fragile. This jacket is warm and incredibly light weight. Temperature range listed is spot on. It should have a 5 star rating, but the shell is too delicate. I brushed up a shelf in my garage and the jacket shell ripped. I can easily envision the shell ripping by snagging a tree branch in the woods or in a fall skiing on icy hard packed snow. so unless you're really careful, I can't recommend this jacket. I'm going to be looking for a coat with a nylon or Gore-Tex shell that isn't too heavily insulated to replace this.
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkably warm for its weight My 20-year-old L.L. Bean warm-up jacket was finally getting worn out so I bought this down sweater to replace it, but was skeptical it would be as warm because it was so thin and ridiculously light, down or not. I should have known to trust the temperature rating because it really is as warm, if not warmer, than the thicker and much heavier warm-up jacket. Love the super light weight and baffled styling. I see some people saying the outer shell is delicate so I will definitely try to be careful to not brush up against anything that might rip the shell. All in all I'm loving this jacket!
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and warm I’m amazed at how light weight this jacket is. You don’t feel like you’re wearing a jacket until you step outside and realize you’re warm. Does a great job at blocking the wind and retaining your body heat. Wore it walking at night in downtown Boston, the temperature was 20 degrees with wind gusts at 30 mph. I was very comfortable. Using solely as an everyday “dress” jacket. This jacket won’t be seeing any backwoods with me so can’t comment on it’s durability. It will get me through a New England winter. I haven’t tried to layer it yet.
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best "Sweater" Ever Apart from calling it a "sweater" instead of a "jacket", I wouldn't change a thing about it. LL Bean offers my rare size medium tall and it fits my 6'2" 170lb self perfectly. Because I'm skinny I get cold very easily and this thing is perfect. Wore it last weekend in 35 degree weather while others' jackets were three times thicker and I was perfectly warm. You can find cheaper down jackets out there but I doubt you can find higher quality. The proprietary nylon shell and zipper really do make a difference and the fill count is as high as any I've seen. I've already ordered the big baffle version for the coldest of cold days and am trying to practice restraint from getting the 850 down jacket version.
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tight Arm Holes The jacket seems well made and is stylish. It fits true to size except the arm holes which are really tight. I’m a pretty thin guy and like a slim fit. But the arm holes are just restring. I tried a similar M size in the store which fit me like a tent and still had pretty snug arm holes. I’m not sure who is doing the sizing for LLBean. But they are way off.
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Excellent Ultralight Down Jacket This jacket is the bomb! I tried on several jackets in the LL Bean store and this one was hands down the very best fit for me. Large Tall is the size I got and I was surprised it fit so well. Typically I would get an XL in order to have plenty of room for sweater or sweatshirt underneath if desired. But this size was perfect even with a sweatshirt on below it. So lightweight you barely notice it but the way it blocks out the cold is amazing. This may be my very favorite winter jacket I have ever purchased. Thanks LL Bean!
Date published: 2021-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, comfortable, flexible I bought this the evening before I was supposed to photograph snowy owls on the shores of New Jersey. The forecast was for low 20’s with 30mph winds on a flat beach. I was very concerned that this light weight skinny jacket wouldn’t hold up to its rating. I was wrong. Despite the bitterly cold wind and extensive hike this jacket kept me very comfortable and was light enough that I could move freely with my camera equipment. It didn’t tear and damage when I was laying flat for low angles and the sand just wiped right off.
Date published: 2021-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and warm = ideal I work in Rockland and often have to walk to different businesses throughout the day for my job. This jacket is so perfect because it’s super light weight and warm and isn’t a hassle in the car or when I’m walking. I got the size large to accommodate the fact that I generally wear a fleece under my winter coat or a sweater so I wanted the extra room it fits perfectly with and without my fleece on underneath and is equally as warm in both scenarios.
Date published: 2021-01-21