Men's L.L.Bean Heavyweight Base Layer, 1/4 Zip is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 15.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Base Layer I was looking for a base layer that was tight enough to wear under other garments but not skin tight. I tried the Large first, but had to move up to XL to a not so snug fit. I’ve worn this base layer under a quarter zip, and under a motorcycle jacket when riding. It does a good job of helping me stay warm enough to enjoy a cold outing without feeling like I’m wearing a lot of bulk. Probably the only thing I would change is I would do away with the thumb loop on the sleeves. I prefer to simply pull the sleeve up slightly so the sleeve doesn’t extend past the cuff of whatever I’m wearing over it. I plan to buy the matching underwear next winter when it is back in stock.
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking foor I was in the market for a heavy weight base layer for duck hunting here in Pennsylvania. The temps can get down into the teens and sometimes single digits. I wanted a base layer that felt nice and cozy against my skin, was crazy thick and warm but also wicked moisture very well. I purchased the too and bottoms of these and could t be happier. Once again I have found what I was looking for from LL Bean. Sometimes I feel like not many of us hunters are still trusting LL Bean but I have been happy with every purchase I use for waterfowl hunting through the years. Thanks ladies and gentlemen for once again producing something that meets my high standards in the outdoors.
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted I fit Beans size medium in slightly fitted tops. But this is a base layer that I wanted to wear as a shirt. So I went to large and the fit was perfect , not skin tight, room to move and doesn't look like underwear when you wear it. I wear it as a first layer, or shirt layer in the house in winter with fleece or wool over it to stay warm. Then to go biking I add a layer and any sweat is picked up by the shirt.. I had some medium weight shirts which were fine when it was warmer. This shirt is perfect for new England winter, indoors and out. Now I have 2. You can wear them a few days between washings.
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavyweight Baselayer The fit is snug, thicker then ones that have been advertised as "heavyweight" in the past. Great look. I wear it as its intended Baselayer, or sometimes will wear it over a t-shirt as my casual "going out" shirt. would recommend as a buy. If stuck between sizes, order up!
Date published: 2019-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good base layer. I often wear a m medium , but based on the reviews i went for a large which was a good choice as this garment runs a little small. This shirt is very soft and comfortable. It is also pretty warm. I use it as a base layer for outdoor work. It hardly restricts movement while moving around. I like the thumb hole when I add additional layers. My only complaint, and the reason I did not give it 5 stars, is that it needs to be a few inches longer. Even so I where it often. If it proves to be durable I will be completely satisfied.
Date published: 2021-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality I purchased this base layer for use in the snow in Minnesota. The quality of the materials and design are excellent. I love the thumb holes to keep the sleeves over the wrist. It is very warm and the quarter zip allows an ability to cool down a bit without taking the whole garment off. I do wish it were longer, as it does not stay tucked in to my pants, and no one wants snow coming into their backside, which is why I can only give this product 4 stars.
Date published: 2019-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmth Definitely provides the warmth expected of a heavyweight base, quality is good the only item giving hesitation to providing 5 stars is its lack of flexibility of movement; which is ok for taking a walk or watching an outdoor hockey game but not conducive to active movements such as skiing or snow shoeing.
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I just purchased a second set in XXL. Use the first set (XL) as pajamas. They have pleasantly snug fit, which I enjoy for sleeping. The second set will be used for outdoor activity and the shirt even as a top layer. It would be awesome if they included a chest pocket for a phone with these base layers, as they did with older ones, several yers back.
Date published: 2020-01-07