Reversible Field Coat for Dogs is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 80.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A so-so substitute for the Field Coat for dogs I probably wouldn't mind the reversible field coat for dogs as much if my other dog didn't already have the authentic field coat that has been discontinued. And yes, there are differences between the two. The heft and finish on the field coat was almost like the field coat for people. The workmanship was top notch. Aside from not being able to have the reversible field coat monogrammed, the workmanship is shoddy and looks a bit cheap. Again, I probably wouldn't object if I hadn't been spoiled by last year's purchase. LL Bean, you messed with success.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I don't often write online reviews, but my dog loves her coat so much I had to for this one! She's the kind of puppy that chews on her harnesses, tags, and any kind of clothing we've ever tried on her, so my husband and I were shocked that she liked her coat so much. Even though she's a 25 lb mutt, her base of neck to base of tail dimensions were exactly the size of a large coat, so we got that cautiously, thinking it might be too big for her, but it's perfect (I think). I'm not sure if it's the way it's SUPPOSED to fit, but she seems happy, so we're happy.
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cold weather coat I bought this coat for our 70 pound mixed breed dog when he was almost a year old ( at which time he only weighed 48 pounds)At first the length of the coat was good but width was large figuring he would continue to grow bigger., I wasn’t worried. Now 18 months after I purchased it the length is too short but the width is fine. The other issue is the opening which you feed the the leash through unraveling. The weight of the coat keeps him even in the winter I just wish you could have two guidelines to determine sizing. Weight and length or length and girth.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cute but not durable This field coat fit my medium sized GSP female perfectly, and I really loved both the canvas and plaid sides of the jacket. I'd be ready to give this a five star review, except this weekend she was running around and the jacket failed catastrophically. Both sides ripped about 4 inches from the collar toward the back seam. I do not foresee this being repairable. Prior to the major failure, the stitches attaching the strap to the jacket were giving out. I sewed these up and didn't much of it. Now that I've seen the final failure, I think this may be any overall quality or durability issue. For $20 this may have been more acceptable, but not $50.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute, but reviewing to give insight on size Super cute, quality material and will do the trick come colder weather ... but definitely listen to everyone that says it runs small. I have a 12lb short haired chiweenie (size of an adult macoon cat in length & height). I’m usually hesitant to buy online for her since she’s in between xs and s but because everyone said it ran way small, I was content with the purchase. Strap the neck strap first and then the belly strap. The amount of Velcro for the belly strap could easily secure an 8lb dog and if my dog gains belly fat, she’ll likely “outgrow it”. The length is good for her, but keep in mind, she is longer than a non-doxie mixed dog. I wouldn’t replace with a medium if she were to gain weight because the length would be too long.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a 70 pound boxer dog It isn't cold enough yet in North Carolina (mid October) for the coat to be truly necessary, but we've tried it (XL) on Lola, who weighs 70 pounds and is an active 2-year old purebred boxer. She seems to like wearing it. It covers her completely from neck to tail with the collar turned back. The fasteners are solid and so far have held the coat in place. It's utilitarian, not a thing of beauty, and flares a little at the back (remember the boxer shape!). Funny to see a dressed-up dog, but boxers don't have much natural coat. This coat looks smart, is comfortable and probably just what's needed.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped easily - super cute for a nonactive dog First, let me say we were really excited about this coat. It looked super cute on our dog and she loved wearing it. She gets cold easily and sometimes didn't want to take it off! However, after about a week of use, the hole where the harness attachment point goes through just ripped. She goes for several walks a day and is a pretty energetic dog. So if you were using this coat for a dog that wasn't utilizing a harness/leash, it would get rave reviews. Instead, I am returning it as the quality of the stitching is poor.
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Super cute, but Too small After carefully measuring before purchasing, I ordered a small for my 12 lb dog and the velcro tabs barely touched (she wears small everywhere else, also). As her winter coat is coming in, it was getting harder to fasten and would pop open on her walks. I washed & dried it according to the instructions, and now it is unwearable. Also, the collar didn't really like staying down. It constantly flips up and I had to adjust it several times on the walk. I'm really disappointed to have spent $59 on something that was really only wearable a handful of times.
Date published: 2020-12-08