L.L.Bean Deluxe Book Pack® is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 328.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful gift! My parents didn't have much when I was growing up, but my siblings and I had LL Bean backpacks. I bought this backpack for a child that is currently in a homeless shelter as part of a Christmas gift. I purchased the navy with their name silver text, when it arrived it was as lovely as I knew it would be. Many children in homeless shelters don't have many things that are truly theirs, so I knew this was a great gift for them. I filled it with some clothes and a pair of shoes with a note telling them to fill it with some of their favorite things. I know this backpack will last them a long time like mine have.
Date published: 2021-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quit making “improvements” If you’re expecting to get a backpack as trusty and reliable as the one you grew up with, check resell sites, because this is NOT the backpack you’re looking for. After only one school year, we had to replace it, as BOTH zippers were caught on the zipper cover and would no longer work. The straps were frayed at the shoulders, and the lining of the main compartment was peeling off. The padded straps, which are now curved, seem shorter and make for a strange fit on your back. They’re also wider and stiffer. The keyhook, or USB hook on the interior is now plastic and breaks easier than the old metal ones. My backpack from 1996 is still being used, and we’ve had none of the issues listed above.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing My 3 children have used LL Bean book packs since they started preschool at 2 years old. They started with the Jr. book pack and in 4th grade got the larger, deluxe book pack to fit their larger books. After 7 years of using the jr. bag year round for both school and camp my son got the larger bag and used it for 2 years. At the beginning of this year the zipper got stuck and while trying to get it unstuck the zipper became disconnected. I brought it into the store and they said there was nothing I could do except buy another one. I guess they don't make them like they used to and they no longer stand behind their products. Very disappointed customer. I will never buy from LLBean again.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nearly 15 YEARS Later and Still Going. My parents bought this same bag for me when I was entering middle school in 2005; Back then, you could customize them in any color you wanted and I certainly did so. That bag survived both my middle school and high school careers. After school, I toured the United States as a professional musician and I used this bag as my carry-on for probably 70,000 or 80,000 miles of travel on planes, vans, and busses going through 40 states. It is STILL in good, usable shape and I intend to continue using it until there is nothing left... Then, I'll have it replaced under warranty and use the next one into the ground, too!!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get rid of the mesh water bottle holder.... This is a great bag except for the mesh water bottle holders on the sides. So many customer complaints and reviews of this ripping, it obviously a design flaw and also appears cheap. I do not use the mesh inserts and just slide my water bottle into the bag itself because of this. Why not design this bag like the Original Backpack or the other backpacks LLB makes where the bag material is used instead of mesh? This is a much stronger option and no complaints on those bags. I hope LLB listens to its customers and redesigns this for next year.
Date published: 2021-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Kids not Adults My oldest son has this backpack and it is fantastic for him. Bombproof for school, scouts, and summer camp. However for an adult the straps are just too small. The bag itself is bigger than some of the adult backpacks LL Bean sells. The straps are not long enough both shoulder and waist for an adult (I am 6ft tall). If this back had longer straps it would be a 5 star bag. I remember as a kid we all got LL Bean book bags and they lasted Elementary School through College. If LL Bean doesn't make the straps longer like the old days everyone will have to buy a new backpack in High school.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Water bottle holder is too small. This is a fantastic basic backpack. The biggest complaint is that the side pockets don't properly hold a decent size water bottle. My middle schooler can't carry his nice LL Bean stainless steel water bottle because it is constantly falling out, and when it falls out, it is very loud. The last think you want in middle school is to draw unwanted attention to yourself, even if it is just from your water bottle hitting the floor in the middle of class. His water bottle isn't even that big. Just a 20 oz Kleen Kanteen. I might try to rig an elastic loop so he can start carrying his water bottle again. For now, he is using a smaller plastic (gasp!) one. Aside from the lousy water bottle pocket, it is a good bag.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great, feels great, practical! I'm already in love with this backpack. The navy actually has a neat, subtle iridescence to it, so that the backpack is timeless without being boring or stodgy. I also really like how it has two drink pockets as well. The book pack is extremely spacious, and the monogramming looks very nice without being ostentacious. I have yet to say on longetivity, but I bought this book pack because I wanted something practical and durable, and I've heard nothing but good things about this one from clasmates and online reviewers alike. I can't wait to bring it to college, and beyond! The only thing that I recommend is a wider range of colors; this would look stunning in yellow, and I'd love for LL Bean to bring back the soft/carnation pink!
Date published: 2018-08-02