Kids' L.L.Bean Down Jacket is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 91.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality My son loves the fuzzy lining and fit of this jacket, however the outer layer is so paper thin it develops holes. Within a month of normal wear, it has a hole in the arm where the feathers are coming out and 2 holes starting in the armpits. Very poor quality for LLBean and not what was expected for a $100 jacket. They are replacing it, but I highly doubt the replacement will be any better since the quality is so poor. I should have looked more into the other reviews before ordering, since this seems to be a common issue with this jacket.
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor outer shell material I purchased this for my 10 year old grandson a couple of weeks ago. He wore it 3 times to school and got a tear in the right sleeve of the jacket for no apparent reason. He loved the jacket! He had a similar style jacket last year from llbean which he absolutely loved. Unfortunately they no longer carried that style. After speaking with a representative she gave me 2 similar choice jackets. He liked the solid color jacket so I went with this one. I should have listened to the other reviews. They had the same issue with the material tearing as well. I have ordered the second choice jacket with the stripes....very similar in style and it got excellent reviews. I'm waiting for its arrival. Please change the type of material you are making the outer shell of this jacket with.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inferior quality of exterior shell I bought the same jacket last year and it was great. It’s still in good shape but my son had outgrown it. So I bought the next size up a month ago. 2 weeks after wearing it the jacket has 2 holes on the exterior shell. One on the hood and one on the chest area. I had to mend them before they got bigger and stuffing came out. The exterior shell quality is very poor and thin - just inappropriate for jackets. What a waste of money. Now I have to search for another jacket for my son. Clearly it’s not going to last the season.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm but not durable. Runs small. I bought my 12 year old a size 18. If he goes through a big growth spurt, it wont fit him by March. A 18 should be big on him because he isn't much over average size, (remember, he is 12) but it isn't. So my point is, make sure you get it larger than you would expect the kid to wear. While it is warm and he loves it, it isn't very durable. He already has tape in two places after only a month. Holes get pomed into it easily. Down jackets used to have much more durable fabric. LL Bean, like most other companies, have gone cheap on quality.
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ripped first time wearing it! My son wore this for two hours today and there is a tear in a sleeve. We buy this jacket every year but this year the material is so flimsy. I am so disappointed in the quality! I won't be buying this jacket again.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY POOR QUALITY! So disappointed and frustrated with LL Bean and this jacket. Do not buy, it is very thin material and we found a hole in ours within the 1st couple days of wearing it. LL Bean did not stand behind their product. I wish would have read the other reviews, because many of them talk about the poor quality material that will not hold up. We planned on using this for a couple years but there is no way this jacket makes it to next year. :(
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great warmth cheap fabric My daughter loves this coat. Perfect fit and loves the color. She took it out of the closet this am and the arm got a tiny rip in it. Just called customer service and they don't patch anymore so I am out of luck and out $89.00. I have an adult LL Bean jacket and the fabric is much tougher. Very disappointing for the price I would expect it to hold up longer.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Leaves lint on clothes It is warm and comfortable jacket. However, the sherpa lining inside the jacket leaves lint on everything my son wears underneath. As a result, he constantly has green lint on all his clothes. We did not expect that to happen with L.L. Bean jacket. We are disappointed with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-02-13