Men's STORMFLEECE Pro Hoodie is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, a Nice Jacket This hoodie replaced the almost identical one that I had purchased from LL Bean several years ago. The previous one was made out of polartec type material. The new one is a smoother (softshell) wind and water resistant fabric with a fleece interior. My previous hoodie was a Large, but I had to order an XL to get the new one to fit properly. The hoodie is warm, and very wind resistant. One other issue: when you unzip the pockets, they gap open instead of laying flat. Previous hoodie didn't do that. Overall, with the two exceptions noted above, it is a nice jacket.
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight, warm, blocks the wind We had an amazing winter this year in NY and I’m glad I added this to my gear. It definitely stood up to some serious wind. Most days it was warm enough by itself but with wind chill below zero at times I did add a lightweight fleece underneath and then the cold had no chance. One of the days it began to drizzle/mist and the water beaded up and never permeated into the fabric. For the price and quality I think it’s a no brainer. I’m getting a second one to put away for when this one dies off because I know I will search far and wide for a replacement when the time comes.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stretch fleece I had the previous generation of this jacket and my in-laws got me a new one last Christmas. After a year of use I can say this is a great jacket. In milder winter days and spring and fall it is my wardrobe staple. Significantly lighter then the previous generation and it does an admirable (but not perfect) job blocking wind and it can save you from cold November rain (though not water proof). 4-stars is for sizing- Slightly fitted is significantly smaller than traditional sizing, I typically get llbean in a large tall torso but the xlarge tall is a perfect fit.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 'Slightly fitted' means ... too small I liked the idea of the StormFleece, but the L.L. Bean site had little information and only two reviews on this new product. So I thought I would give it a try. Unfortunately, the large size didn't fit, it was just too tight. The description said it is 'slightly fitted' and I haven't had a problem in the past with LL Bean products of that type. But this didn't work for me. The outer fabric is stretchy, but not very soft. I'd guess this jacked would provide medium warmth, not really a winter jacket.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect The internal surfaces feel soft and warm while the exterior feels a touch more rugged and robust than the normal cotton of fleece hoodie. The bigger cuff integrated with the hood make it a nice warm mid layer to pair with a down jacket on really cold days. Giving it 4 starts instead of 5 because the arms/chest fit a bit more snugly than most other XLT sizes that claim to be "slightly fitted". I weight-lift so my arms and chest are probably more bulky than most that wear an XLT so this probably wouldn't be an issue for others.
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great go-to jacket Have had this for about three months now and it's become my go-to jacket this fall and winter. Love the extra sleeve and torso length in the Tall size, fits great! It is a bit thin for temps below 30 without a mid layer underneath. Love the fleece lining, but as some reviewers have mentioned it does tend to be "sticky" if you have fleece under it. Love the fact LL Bean makes a tall size. Does a good job in the windproof area and a great hood that is easy to cinch down with gloves on.
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent jacket I bought this jacket to wear at work, I wanted something that will keep me warm, yet allow me to move freely without the bulk of the heavier jackets. My work has no idea what it means to turn the heat on, so I need a jacket that will keep me warm and this one definitely does. I really love that the sleeves have elastic cuffs that actually stay in place without moving. I never wear any shirt or light weight jacket with the sleeves down, I always have them just below my elbows, and in my job I am moving constantly for 8 straight hours, and these sleeves will not move. Sometimes I have to go into a freezer unit and the hood does a great job of keeping the cold air directly off of my head for the short time that I’m in there doing what I have to do. I will most likely buy another one of these jackets for everyday use outside of my work.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect There's a lot to like about this jacket. I bought it to replace an older LLBean polartec jacket of similar design which I've had for over 10 years. I like that this jacket has a drawstring for the hood and waist....something that my old jacket lacked. I selected a size Large because that's what my old jacket was. Lately, LLBean's Large tends to be huge, but this jacket was a pleasant surprise. It has a slightly tapered fit. My main complaint is that the sleeves are almost unnaturally skinny. I'm not particularly muscular, but if I was, the sleeves would be too tight with anything other than a light shirt. For me it's a keeper, but anybody of a stockier build, may want to order a size up.
Date published: 2020-10-08