Women's Signature Short-Sleeve Linen Top is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This fit is wonky! I got the dusty green plaid top. When I took it out of the package, I liked the color even more in person. The fabric is a wonderful soft cotton. Now for the bad part...the size makes NO sense. I ordered the medium. I have pretty broad shoulders so I thought it would be better than the large I usually would get. I could NOT keep the thing on my shoulders. I knew that there was no way that a small would work by the way the bottom of the shirt fit my middle. I don't know what is happening with LL Bean sizing. Could it be that most of the clothing is being manufactured "off shore"? PS, it is on its way back!
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way better than it shows online Super cute top! LOVE the neckline. My 23 year old daughter wanted this top and I resisted ordering since I thought it was a bit pricey, but so glad I did! High quality heavy weight linen with pretty finishing touches. The medium navy plaid was perfect for her. I'm 5 ft 5 and 135 lbs and would order small. Like some reviews say, it is more boxy than a fitted, but that and the wide boatneck are what make this top classy and attractive on. Just ordered 2 more - one for myself and one for my other daughter. We don't have wide shoulders which is why boatneck lines are so flattering. None of us are concerned that our bra strap may occasional show!
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lovely fabric, lousy design Other reviews were 100% accurate. Quality is good; design is not...I'm broad shouldered and thot I'd be fine with the oversized neck. I even bought one size smaller. Nope. It slips and slides requiring me to either wear a cami or strapless bra. Then there's the length issue...Too long to wear loosely tied as designed. I work around this by tying it super tight or tucking the front into my pants. Sometimes I pleat the neckline at center front and pin it. Works ok. ▪︎ LL Bean, are you listening to us? ▪︎ Go back to the drawing board on this one. Hopefully soon. I love the fabric and, with major rework, the design could be a homerun.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Petite Sizes I was hoping to buy this beautiful royal blue and white plaid in petite size, but it was not available. I checked the size charts and decided to order the medium. It was way too big so I returned that for a small. The small was also too big ... mostly in the length. I cut the hemline, washed and air dried the top and today I machine stitched it to fit my size. I’m pleased with the results...it is very pretty. However, my sewing skill level is in question as I’m not sure I can reimagine the flirty “shirt tie”. While the linen fabric is beautiful, it is now an A-Line rendition. very nice fabric and quality but overly expensive as an import from China. .
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted this to work... I loved the looks of this shirt last year but it was sold out. This year I saw that the adobe bird pattern was available. After reading the reviews I figured that I should order an XS rather than a small. It arrived yesterday and I was eager to see how it fit. As stated in so many of the reviews, the neckline is so wide straps show and slippage off the shoulders was inevitable. XXS is available in the blue plaid but I'm not going to risk ordering due to the neckline. Perhaps the design of this blouse could be reworked for next year. I sure hope so!
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from May exchange for smaller size . . . I purchased this item in size small for my 5 ft. no extra, 100 lb. frame. (Perhaps extra small would have been a better choice for me?) While I like wide necklines, this one slips off my shoulders a bit. The underarms are cut generously- a plus when dealing with summer's heat and humidity. The overall fit is loose and airy, and the linen is very lightweight and soft. I would have preferred the top to be a little bit shorter, but perhaps washing and drying would take care of that. I chose the stone and blue plaid- very pretty!
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order down for a good fit! Please note I ordered a size smaller than the measurements for my body were, knowing it fit loose. While reading other reviews, one complaint in particular kept surfacing - the boatneck was too wide. The boatneck on the size I ordered was just fine & a standard boatneck design. The item, while fitting nicely and with enough ease around the bust & tummy, was still quite long, but looks good & flattering for those of us with a rounder middle. I definitely recommend ordering down a size from the size guide recommendations for a more tailored look, but still expect some length!
Date published: 2020-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unique, cool, cute, comfy Love it. I got the Navy because I thought it was the most stylish and slimming color way. I'm 5'5"/150 lbs and the medium was a very roomy, comfortable fit. The top looks very cute with a bright orange/red pencil skirt or capris and sandals. It'll be nice and cool in the summer. My only minor complaint is that I wish the "tie" was off-center, so it didn't add dimension to the abdominal area. But I found a way to make it look like it tied at the hip instead of front and center.
Date published: 2018-05-08