Men's L.L.Bean Allagash Cargo Pants, Natural Fit is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 271.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Miss the old pocket style These are a rugged pair of pants I could wear for hiking, backpacking, working on things, and even for work (IT work). However, as with many article of clothing I have liked, the manufacturer has changed their design, and in my opinion for the worse. LL Bean’s old six pockets design was more like the army fatigue style, allowing space for the pocket to expand. The new version of these pants have the edges flush with the pants; make them more like all their other versions of their six pocket/cargo pants, which leave the pockets feeling more cramped when storing items in them. If they had the old pocket design, I would given this product a four star rating.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit disappointed The waist is sized too large. I would recommend ordering a size down. This new version is much more tapered through the thighs so that when you sit they tend to pull. The pockets are so shallow as to be unusable except for change. Putting your wallet or phone in the pockets is asking for it to fall out. Also, the color Rangley Blue is lighter than it appears on the website. It is more of a slate blue. It would be great if these came Navy or Black. My opinion is highly influenced by the previous version which was true to size and had deeper pockets. I think I'll watch the reviews to see if they change the design before purchasing again.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring back old style - Keep Allagash Rugged Allagash pants and shorts were never meant for people that wanted a casual cargo pant; Allagash represented serious outdoor wear, with toughness and utility at its core. The change in style to make them more "respectable" to wear about town is ridiculous - LL Bean has many other styles of cargo and casual pant for that purpose. My biggest peeves are the tapering of the legs, the removal of the billows in the cargo pocket (which makes them hold much, much less), and the change to snaps. Please keep Allagash what is was meant for, even if you sell less - it represented that LL Bean still took outdoor utility seriously.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cheapened original Allagash cargo pant I have a pair of these cargo pants bought a few years ago and they are quite sturdy and functional. The recent version of these pants have been functionally cheapened: the cargo pockets and back pockets no longer bellows out, which is a necessity for cargo pants to do their job, instead there is some tacky diagonal stitching at the bottom corners. Additionally one of the zippered side pockets has been eliminated. At about the same price as you charged previously you have substituted a fake copy of the original Allagash cargo pants. Upon examining the pants I checked your catalog photo, which shows the modifications, shame on me for not paying more attention to the substitutions; caveat emptor LLBean.
Date published: 2019-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from poor fit My current pair of Bean Allagash cargos are almost worn from use and these were meant as replacements. Since I'm only the 2nd to review, this must be a new version. This version is different in that it's lighter weight with pockets that are obvious cost cutters. But the deal breaker for me was the fit. These pants were purchased the same size as the old, but fit like diapers. The waist is too large and hip/crotch too baggy. I understand that there is always some "vanity sizing" for us mature types, but Bean overshot this time.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what they used to be I've bought these pants for a long time, in store and online. The fabric used to be tough and last years. It's now good for about a year or less of wear. After the the last round all disintegrated in the same wear spot within 8 months, I didn't buy them for a few years, but decided to try again. This year they've changed the model by removing one of the handy side zipper pockets. It removed a useful pocket. I guess they saved some money. Unfortunately the quality decline is across the board, not just llbean. I'm not sure where to buy quality pants. These are probably as good as the rest, possibly slightly better. Each round they seem a bit lower in quality.
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheaper quality, higher price. Finally, after years of buying the Allagash cargo pants, you guys finally listened to my reviews and replaced the buttons on the pockets with the snap buttons. However, you managed to ruin everything else that was good about these pants. The fabric is paper thin and not as thick and sturdy. You also removed the zipper pocket on one side!? I was very disappointed with how cheaply this new version was designed and immediately returned them. These pants are not designed to hold up and will rip very easily!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but... Really like them overall. Good material and very good stitching. Good zipper. Cargo pockets have pleats for decent expansion but no side gussets, and also the flaps are large and double thickness for a good look even when open. I really hate the snaps on the cargo pockets as they are small and very hard to snap (2 hands needed by me). I would greatly prefer hook-n-loop cargo pocket fasteners. The main closure is a plastic button and it really would be nice to have a metal button. The button hole is also a bit too small for me. My concerns are relatively small but I wanted to let y'all know my thoughts.
Date published: 2020-11-12