L.L.Bean Base Camp Chair is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Portable Comfort I have a previous LL Bean camp chair which continues to serve well. It is no longer in the catalogue or online which was a bit of a disappointment as it was *heavy* canvas and compact. (no arms, cup holders or other frills). I was a little concerned about the "durability" of this chair based on reviews, but based on weight capacity, I decided to give it a try. So far so good. The only reason for not giving a 5 star is the fabric is not as heavy as my vintage chair. Nice carry case and the cup holder and arms *do* add to the utility. If the chair proves durable, I will revisit the review and amend.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Base Camp Chair Just received the two I ordered in Lava Red. The price was right and they seem well enough made. The problem I have with them is that they don't satisfy one major requirement in using a chair - they aren't comfortable! Really disappointed. My issue is that, for me, the back makes you sit too straight up, not in a more relaxed, carefree position. It would be a nice touch if the back was adjustable, which wouldn't be that difficult to do and worth a few extra dollars more for the feature. Come on Bean, you can do it. Still haven't decided if they will be returned.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable folding chair This is a comfortable, handy little chair that I find easy to carry to sit outside. A few neighbors have commented on how nice it is and of course I've recommended a visit to L.L. Bean to purchase one. On first use I did notice the bar on the back of my legs (as another reviewer mentioned), but adjusting my posture properly eliminated that. I like the bag to store and carry the chair in; it will keep it clean in the off-season and make it easy to carry for outdoor functions during the summertime outdoor concerts and picnics. The chair folds and unfolds with ease, and the handy little mesh cup holder is perfect for my water bottle. No complaints from me -- I'm very pleased with this chair. Thank you, L.L.Bean!
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelllent! I've been looking at folding chairs to replace a couple that we've had for a while that simply wore out. In doing my research I found that not all folding portable camp chairs are the same. You can find an inexpensive one but you get what you pay for. It is important to note the weight limitations when purchasing these chairs. L.L. Bean was the only place I found that had a lightweight but sturdier option in this chair at a reasonable price. The chair is a little wider so it is more comfortable to sit in. Also, the fabric is strong and soft. There are no scratchy bits. I also like the reinforced construction of the chair legs. The chair folds smoothly and easily. Plus the bag is large enough to slip the folded chair back in without a struggle. I am very pleased with these chairs (I bought two) and highly recommend them. I hope to get a lot of use out of these chairs.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I've been looking for new camp chairs and was excited to find these however the excitement quickly turned to disappointment. I found they were not comfortable to sit in and while I'm small framed (5'0) could see this chair would be very uncomfortable for someone who is a larger frame. I ordered the red which was a very nice color however not a comfortable chair to sit in at all. Sadly I returned them.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Base Camp Chair I have used the L.L.Bean Base Camp chairs numerous times over the past several months. They are comfortable, sturdy, and are easy to pack and store. I bought two of them in red. They look great in this color. I highly recommend them to anyone who is in the market for this type of chair.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Expected too much I purchased this chair to replace one from EMS that they no longer carry. That one is 10 years old and has been well used. I received this one in June. I started to use it in July. It's not as comfortable as the one I had from EMS but I wasn't expecting it to be. I didn't expect it to start coming apart at the seams on the armrest. I haven't used it in any unusual ways to cause that. The carry bag for it is also ripping on the seam. It's not easy to get the chair into or out of the bag. The material for the bag is flimsy and really should be stronger. I'm disappointed in the quality of this because LL Bean has, for the most part, always had high quality clothing, shoes, etc. I will be seeing if I can exchange it for another chair since I'm hoping that this is just a fluke.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not comfortable Our other camp chairs we had for 7 or 8 years but wanted to invest in some new ones. These are not very comfortable. they are quite straight back and more narrow. The other big issue is there is only one cup holder. Our other ones had 2 cup holders which is much more helpful. We will be keeping these because we are using them but would rather a little more space and comfort in a camp chair.
Date published: 2020-08-13