Men's L.L.Bean Sweater Fleece 3-in-1 Jacket is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 155.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice separates The fleece sweater is a nice piece on its own: fairly thick, soft, warm, having a high warm collar with the zipper up, and the attachment loops are unobtrusive. The lightweight shell is also a nice piece on its own with a slippery inner liner that makes it easy to put on. This combo, as separates, are just what I wanted. However, as others have noted, the sweater does not work as well when snapped and zipped into the jacket as a thermal liner: the fleece sweater sleeves are difficult to get your arms through. I prefer both as separates anyway. Suggested improvements: leave the snap at the bottom but use unaggressive velcro for the zipper storm flap and sleeve cuffs.
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it (except for one thing) I bought this jacket for a trip to Europe. I wanted something that was flexible and warm but that would still fit in a suitcase without taking up the whole thing. This jacket worked perfectly. It folded very flat in the suitcase and didn't take up too much room. The only complaint I have is when you pull the sleeves on, the zip out lining tends to bunch up near the hands and has to be pushed back in so that the Velcro fasteners at the sleeve can be affixed. I don't think this issue is unique to this jacket and I don't know how it could be remedied but I thought it worth mentioning. Otherwise, very happy with the jacket.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not well designed The jacket is certainly as warm as advertised since I wore it in the teens and was quite comfortable. Unfortunately, when you put in your arm, the lining catches on whatever shirt I am wearing and an inch or two of material from the liner extends out of the shell once my arm is fully extended. After a minute or so of fussing with the sleeves, I am fully into the jacket, and the lining is back in the sleeve of the shell. It is actually quicker to don the jacket with the lining unzipped from the shell and put each one on separately, but that would seem to defeat the purpose of the garment.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too tight to layer I purchased the green jacket approximately 3 months ago. The color is as advertised. The quality appears up to Bean standards. I really like the name badge on the jacket too. It’s a subtle detail that I think is quite nice. I have received a few compliments when wearing it. The issue I take with it is functionality: the jacket is far too small to layer. I understand the slim fit is in style but, when you deal with mid and outer layers, you need to be able slip it over your base comfortably. I’m not trying to sound old I’m just trying to be practical. The tapering in the chest and waist is unnecessary. If you have larger than average arms and a broad chest you will struggle to move comfortably in this jacket.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and good for the price. Got this jacket when it was on sale and thought it was great price, wore it out snowboarding and it did an awesome job keeping me warm with the fleece inside jacket as well dry with the outer layer. Next day separated the jacket and just wore the fleece out to dinner and it looks very nice. Overall pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As Advertised, But.... The coat is comfortable to wear and warm for its purpose, which is a mid-weight coat that is good for moderate to cool temperatures. My chief complaint is that with the fleece liner in place the arms stick/bind to virtually any clothing I am wearing (sweater, plain shirt) and the thus it is difficult to put on and the fleece ends up pushing through the ends of the sleeves and I am forced to pull them back in. Once on, it is comfortable but putting it on is a bit annoying.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It fit my hips. I am a female with wide hips. I decided to try a men's jacket instead of a woman's. Yes, it comes down below my hips and I can either zip it up or use the snaps. This is great. HOWEVER, please note this jacket does NOT have a breathable mesh liner as advertised!!!!! There are no vent flaps on the back or under arms. There is NO interior pocket with audio port on the jacket. I will use the jacket without the liner after reading all the reviews citing trouble with the sleeves. If I didn't need a new jacket so badly, I would have returned it when I found it did not have a mesh liner.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY nice coat This is an excellent coat. It looks good and is plenty warm enough. The other reviews are spot on with the sleeves...They do poke out at the cuff every time and need to be adjusted every time. However, it really isn't a big deal. It takes seconds to fix it and the style, comfort and warmth of the coat more than make up for the issue. Plus the zip in fleece is so much nicer than most 3 in 1 coats. I am very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-12-26