Men's Maine Guide Zip-Front Jac-Shirt is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit You do not want to hear about itch or "noise", you want to know if the garment fits. I will tell you. No. Me: 5'11 180ish, very average build. Always a Large in jackets, sometimes a large running medium. The issue is the sleeves are too long. Past knuckles onto fingers with arms at sides. Also: the bottom hem bells or balloons out. Too loose at the bottom. Two stars because other than that the general fit-length, quality and workmanship appear excellent. You cant find wool jackets like this nowadays. If it fit I would buy like a million of them. Too bad they sewed the sleeves to a XL tall on it.
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I bought this jacket looking for an alternative to a heavy polarfleece jacket that I had been wearing for years. I was preparing for a Shiras Moose hunt in Alberta. It was perfect. I dealt with heavy snow and temperatures down to 8 degrees Fahrenheit. Typically I had a long john shirt and one or two shirts on underneath this jacket. For the coldest weather I also put a wool sweater under it. I was never cold and it shed moisture very well. Stick with the tried and true! As an added benefit this jacket looks good around town. Kill two birds with one jacket.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect tracking jacket light, not to hot, I wouldn't buy it for sitting, its perfect for tracking and adjusting your base layers as needed. I wait for the 15 or 20% sales so its a great deal compared to other jackets in the $250 to 300 range which in my opinion are to heavy and to warm. I also wash it on cold water, dry it on low and it comes out fine. The sleeves on bean stuff usually run long so I got a large regular when usually I am a large tall or XL in other brands. Wish the pockets had zippers on them, I end up sewing some in myself.
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sized too large I should have paid attention to an earlier review. I always wear a large size for shirts, parkas etc. But this jacket in the large size is way bigger than large. The sleeves came down to my fingernails and the jacket bottom was down to my crotch. I returned it for a medium. I tried on a friends medium and it fit perfectly with room for a heavy sweater or down vest underneath.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scratchy, Warm, Durable No liner on this puppy and the wool is scratchy. But, this will easily be with me for a lifetime. I have used it on a cold desert island with salt spray in the air, out in the dirt of a forest, and it will go hunting with me. It's quiet, it's warm, and it's scratchy (on the inside), but, just wear a long sleeve t-shirt or a flannel underneath it and you're set. I've packed this thing into duffel bags full of damp/sandy/dusty/rocky/sharp items and it's fine. Just hang it up to air-out in the garage and it's ready for another adventure. I also ordered the Filson Mackinaw and this was better! My wife and kids liked the style of this jacket over the Filson. I go with their fashion choices, they know better than I.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Quaility This is a great coat (jac-shirt. I purchased in Freeport so I could try it on and other reviewers are correct. If you normally wear a Large, you'll likely need a Medium. For me, the Medium has enough room to wear a heavy shirt or a light sweater, if needed. Quality is top notch. The color (Loden = dark green) is perfect
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Men's Maine Guide Jac You have made the mistake of using Asian measures for an American Product. This is suppose to be a jacket, meaning that it should fit over a heavy shirt such as a L.L. Bean lined hurricane shirt or a LL Bean chamois shirt. It fits but it is too tight both in the arms and the chest and waist. I for the life of me do not understand why a shirt such as the hurricane shirt or the chamois shirt is cut with larger dimensions than a jacket. It makes one wonder if I need to put the shirt over the jacket? Would like an answer to that question. The jacket also has a zipper that is too small, you may want to examine a Carhartt jacket. The thickness of the wool needs to be given some consideration also. Overall you may want to do a major examination of the product.
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit I wear 2XL t-shirts and the XL jacket fits very well. It is warm and adequate for winter in Virginia. I bought the one without the windstopper and the wind does whip right through it.
Date published: 2020-01-04