Men's Maine Guide Zip-Front Jac-Shirt with PrimaLoft is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to jacket Amazingly warm for how thin the jacket feels. While it can easily serve as a casual winter barn jacket, with some light layering underneath this is surprisingly good for even the coldest of days here in Maine. I wear this for everything from bringing in the groceries, to shoveling snow, to long hikes with the dogs. Sleeves are a little long but the overlap on the gloves keeps your wrists covered through a full range of motion (chopping wood, etc.). The last jacket I had like this one with the shell chest-pockets had a button flap-tie on the collar to hold it up and keep the rain out, so I miss that detail but I can have that made up.
Date published: 2021-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish it were warmer Bought this to use as a cool weather winter coat in WI. The wool material and lining are much thinner than I thought it would be. Read the reviews on how warm it was, don't agree. Wore it in 20° temperature and not close to warm enough. Will have to put more layers on underneath to serve my use. Too bad! Already have lots of coats for 30° and up and parkas for 10° and below. Was looking for something in the middle. Looks very nice, Fits large but well. Should have a two way zipper.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Wool Jacket I was looking at this Maine Guide Jacket for about 2 years now and finally decided to purchase it. The Jacket is made very well and should last many years. The winters in NC are usually mild and it works perfect for that climate. I wear it out in the woods for hunting and walking the dog. For colder weather 32F-20F I would recommend a wool sweater as mid layer. The primaloft liner is a good add on to the wool. So my opinion is,great Jacket for colder days for late Fall and Winter. But on day's that exceed 50F or more this Jacket will work with a t-shirt underneath. For regions that experience bitter cold I would recommend multiple layers or a thicker wool coat. Cons : I wish the Loden would have been a lighter color but still looks great on.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I wear LL Bean products and purchase them for my young boys all the time. Reading the reviews before purchasing I went with the XL regular. I purchased in the Fall of 2020 and wore the entire though the entire Upstate New York winter 2020-2021 season. I was never cold, never wet, and comfortable the entire time. I wear a 54" suit coat and was impressed right out the package. The sleeves are a little long but other than that if this is something your hesitant on don't be - I don't like to wear heavy coats and if this sounds like you you will be happy -- WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT MADE IN USA --
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent build quality, warm, and stylish I've been wearing synthetic "outdoor brand" jackets for as long as I've known but I figured I'd give wool a try this year. And I'm very happy with this coat. It blocks the wind, repels light rain and snow, and keeps me nice and toasty in temps down to the high teens. The fit runs a little large, presumably to allow layering underneath.
Date published: 2018-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Maine Jacket Amazing jacket, super warm and fits great. Can be a little heavy once wet but still super warm on coldest of days. Great jacket with many years of use to come.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome Comfort I bought this jacket two years ago, so this is my third cold season wearing it. Actually, two years ago I purchased a large, but exchanged it for a medium the following year. (I also purchased the trousers, because I planned to wear the clothes on a snowshoeing trip that was cancelled, and thought it'd be rare for me to need them, so the trousers I returned.) It's one of the best garments I've ever owned! (I'm 63 now, so that's really saying something.) I got it in loden green, a classic color that will last me for a long time without being out of style. With the combination of wool and Primaloft, it's warm but not bulky or cloying. In the Pacific NW where I live, it's often foggy or misting rain, and this jacket can handle some wet with ease; it dries fast. If it's really cold, one can add a scarf and or gloves. The cut and style of the jacket can dress up or down--from jeans to nice trousers. The only criticism I have is that the jacket has no interior pocket, although the slash and breast pockets are ample, and provide plenty of room for my wallet, phone, and keys. I get compliments all the time on the jacket--I like standing out from the sea of puffy coats and parkas with this one.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful coat but too large Up here in Washington State on the west side of the mountains, during the winters we generally are in the low 40s with misty to heavy rain all winter long with only a week or 2 of sub zero. So I was looking forward to getting this coat for the upcoming winter however I ordered a large and while the body felt a little large leaving space for layering the sleeves were extremely long covering my whole hand. I'm a pretty average guy arm length leg length body length so I expected a large to fit pretty well unfortunately that was not the case. I have returned the jacket for an exchange to a medium perhaps this is where my complaint comes in the exchange process is scheduled to take up to 3 weeks which puts us into mid-December and the time I need the jacket most. As for Quality ofvworkmanship and Design this jacket is beautiful and I can't wait to get the correct size.
Date published: 2019-11-14